Motorcycle Racing News AMA Superbike: Mid-Ohio Saturday Results

AMA Superbike: Mid-Ohio Saturday Results


AMA Superbike News

Team Graves Yamaha rider Josh Hayes reclaimed the top spot in the 2010 AMA Superbike Championship after leading all 21 laps of Race 1 at Mid-Ohio Saturday.

The win was his fourth this season, and he now has a 10-point lead over the man in second place, Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider Tommy Hayden. Joining Hayes on the podium was Pat Clark Motorsports rider Ben Bostrom and Hayden, respectively.

Starting from the pole, Hayes was beat to turn 1 by Bostrom and Foremost Insurance Ducati rider Larry Pegram. But by the end of the first lap, Hayes had three bike lengths on Bostrom, and kept the position to the checkered flag. Following in fourth was Hayden and National Guard Jordan Suzuki rider Jake Zemke.

By lap 5, Hayes and Bostrom began pulling away from the pack. Behind, Pegram was holding off Zemke, who appeared much better on the brakes. On lap 7, the top five of Hayes, Bostrom, Pegram, Zemke and Hayden pulled away from sixth-place rider Jake Holden (M4 Monster Suzuki) by 2.685 seconds.

The two leaders began battling for first, but Hayes kept a tight line and held off Bostrom. Meanwhile behind, Hayden passed Zemke for fourth. On lap 11 Bostrom went wide and lost two bike lengths on the top of turn 14.

On lap 12 the only accident of the 21-lap race occurred as Yamaha rider Kurtis Roberts went down at the keyhole. On that same lap, Zemke kept falling behind, and on lap 14 M4 Suzuki rider Jake Holden took over fifth.

Hayden began a charge on Pegram, finally passing him on lap 19 on the back straightaway. Hayden began pulling away, attempting to chase down the leaders. But he would not catch them.

Hayes held off Bostrom by 0.219 of a second, and Hayden arrived in third alone, followed by Pegram and Holden.

2010 AMA Superbike: Mid-Ohio, Race 1

1. Josh Hayes, Yamaha YZF-R1

2. Ben Bostrom, Yamaha YZF-R1

3. Tommy Hayden, Suzuki GSX-R 1000

4. Larry Pegram, Ducati 1098R

5. Jake Holden, Suzuki GSX-R 1000

6. Jake Zemke, Suzuki GSX-R 1000

7. Brett McCormick, Suzuki GSX-R 1000

8. Eric Bostrom, Suzuki GSX-R 1000

9. Chris Ulrich, Suzuki GSX-R 1000

10. Jordan Szoke, Honda CBR 1000 RR

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide First Look (6 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide is here, and it’s louder and sleeker than ever—plus it has some wild new wheels. Here’s what’s new...

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...