Sportbike: Mid-Ohio Saturday Results

AMA Daytona Sportbike News

Winning from the second pole of his 2010 AMA Daytona Sportbike season, Josh Herrin extended his lead to 73 points after taking Race 1 at the Honda Super Cycle Weekend at Mid-Ohio Saturday.

The Team Graves Yamaha rider now holds a 31-point lead over GEICO Powersports Suzuki rider and defending Sportbike champion Danny Eslick.

But it wasn't an easy win for Herrin at the 2.4-mile track. Starting from first on the grid, he fell back to fourth position by turn 1 of 14. Eslick took the lead early, followed by M4 Monster Energy Suzuki rider Martin Cardenas, Team Latus Ducati rider Steve Rapp, Herrin and DNA Energy Drink CNR Motorsports Ducati rider Bobby Fong.

On the second lap, Herrin went from fourth to second, passing Rapp and Cardenas going into turn 7. Soon he was side-by-side with then-leader Eslick, and the top five were out front 1.374 seconds ahead of the rider in sixth place, Team Graves Yamaha rider Tommy Aquino.

On lap 5, the five-way battle intensified, but Eslick began pulling away, having three bike lengths on Herrin. But by the carousel before the start/finish line, the group tightened again.

Eslick fell back to third on lap 6, and Cardenas pulled to the front. By lap 9, Eslick fell back to fourth, the tight running order up front being Cardenas, Herrin, Fong and Eslick. On lap 13, the front runners encountered some lap traffic, and Fong took advantage of the situation, taking second from Herrin.

Two laps later, tires began to wear, and Fong's front tire pushed out a bit, allowing Herrin to pass for second. On the next lap, Herrin took Cardenas for first and simultaneously Eslich took Fong for third.

On lap 19, Cardenas regained the lead on the back straightaway, stretching it to two bike lengths. On the final lap, him and Herrin swapped the position, but Herrin made it stick, as Fong also passed Cardenas for second.

Herrin finished 0.045 of a second ahead of Fong with Cardenas settling for third. Second was Fong's best finish of the season. Although Eslick ran off the track before the carousel, he still finished fourth, 6.999 seconds. Rounding out the top five was Tommy Aquino, who held off a charging Rapp.

2010 AMA Daytona Sportbike, Mid-Ohio Results, Race 1:
1. Josh Herrin, Yamaha YZF-R6
2. Bobby Fong, Ducati 848
3. Martin Cardenas, Suzuki GSX-R 600
4. Danny Eslick, Suzuki GSX-R 600
5. Tommy Aquino, Yamaha YZF-R6
6. Steve Rapp, Ducati 848
7. Chris Fillmore, Suzuki GSX-R 600
8. Cory West, Suzuki GS-R 600
9. Clinton Seller, Yamaha YZF-R6
10. Josh Day, Yamaha YZF-R6


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.