Motorcycle Racing News Moto2 Catalunya Results: Crash Brigade

Moto2 Catalunya Results: Crash Brigade

Moto2 Results

Yuki Takahashi took his first Grand Prix victory since 2006 when he won today’s somewhat chaotic Moto2 race at the Gran Premi Aperol de Catalunya. The Tech 3 rider won from second place on the grid, profiting from a mistake by Andrea Iannone who was penalised for overtaking at Turn 1 when the yellow flags were out.

A typically frantic Moto2 start was marred by a huge crash in Turn 1 as Alex Debón, Mike di Meglio, Roberto Rolfo, Robertino Pietri, Shoya Tomizawa, Héctor Faubel, Dominique Aegerter, Sergio Gadea and Alex Baldolini all went down.

Clear of the pile up were Thomas Lüthi, Toni Elías, Takahashi, Iannone and Julián Simón and it was this group that ended battling for the top positions throughout the race.

With the yellow flag still out from the opening lap and no overtaking therefore allowed, Iannone’s move on Takahashi to assume the lead resulted in the Italian being demoted back to second, a message his team tried desperately to convey to him but without success.

Shortly after Niccolò Canepa crashed out at Turn 9 and his bike caught fire in dramatic fashion, and Ratthapark Wilairot was another faller as the pace remained at the limit.

With eight laps remaining and Iannone not having taken his demotion the Italian was issued with a Ride Through penalty – he eventually finished 13th – and his surrendering of the lead placed Takahashi at the head of the race.

Following behind the Japanese rider were Lüthi and Simón, but at a distance of almost five seconds as the end of the race approached. Victory was therefore safe for Takahashi and he crossed the line 5.037s clear of the pair, who fought to the last corner with Lüthi edging it by just 0.163s for his third successive podium. Simón’s third place was his third podium of the 2010 campaign.

Completing the top six were Karel Abraham, Toni Elías and Simone Corsi. There was a spectacular crash for Carmelo Morales as he tried to slipstream Kenny Noyes for seventh on the start/finish straight. Apart from a minor contusion on his hand the substitute rider was uninjured in the crash.

Moto2 Records



2010 Andrea IANNONE 1’47.493 158.3


Fastest Lap: Lap: 4 Andrea IANNONE 1’47.543 158.2


Circuit Record Lap: 2010 Andrea IANNONE 1’47.543 158.2


Best Lap: 2010 Andrea IANNONE 1’47.493 158.3


The race result means Elías remains at the top of the standings on 111 points, with Lüthi second on 94 and Simón third on 77. Tomizawa is fourth, just a point behind Simón, after his DNF today.

Moto2 Results – Barcelona, Sunday, July 04, 2010

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Tech

3 Racing

Tech 3 156.4 41’42.451
2 20 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten

Moriwaki Moto2

Moriwaki 156.1 +5.037
3 16 60 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre

Aspar Team

Suter 156.1 +5.200
4 13 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion

AB Motoracing

FTR 156.0 +6.706
5 11 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Gresini

Racing Moto2

Moriwaki 155.9 +7.369
6 10 3 Simone CORSI ITA JIR


Motobi 155.9 +7.414
7 9 9 Kenny NOYES USA Jack

& Jones by A.Banderas

Promoharris 155.3 +17.010
8 8 10 Fonsi NIETO SPA Holiday

Gym G22

Moriwaki 155.1 +20.555
9 7 8 Anthony WEST AUS MZ

Racing Team

MZ-RE Honda 155.1 +21.001

Team Scot

Force GP210 155.1 +21.369
11 5 2 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Fimmco

Speed Up

Speed Up 155.0 +22.213
12 4 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX BQR-Moto2 155.0 +23.024
13 3 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Fimmco

Speed Up

Speed Up 154.8 +25.297
14 2 16 Jules CLUZEL FRA Forward


Suter 154.8 +26.674
15 1 11 Yusuke TESHIMA JPN JIR


Motobi 154.7 +26.796
16 35 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Tech

3 Racing

Tech 3 154.7 +27.441
17 41 Arne TODE GER Racing

Team Germany

Suter 154.7 +27.674
18 61 Vladimir IVANOV UKR Gresini

Racing Moto2

Moriwaki 154.2 +35.193
19 18 Jordi TORRES SPA MR


Promoharris 154.1 +37.424
20 53 Valentin DEBISE FRA WTR

San Marino Team

ADV 153.9 +41.504
21 5 Joan OLIVE SPA Jack

& Jones by A.Banderas

Promoharris 153.8 +41.710
22 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Forward


Suter 153.8 +41.966
23 4 Ricard CARDUS SPA Viessmann

Kiefer Racing

Suter 153.4 +49.224
24 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Holiday

Gym G22

Moriwaki 152.5 +1’03.470
25 40 Sergio GADEA SPA Tenerife

40 Pons

Pons Kalex 152.0 +1’12.814
26 95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT Blusens-STX BQR-Moto2 151.4 +1’22.796
Not Classified
31 Carmelo MORALES SPA Tenerife

40 Pons

Pons Kalex 155.4 1 Lap
76 Bernat MARTINEZ SPA Maquinza-SAG


Bimota 152.6 3 Laps
25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA Caretta

Technology Race Dept

I.C.P. 151.1 4 Laps
45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc

VDS Racing Team

Suter 151.7 11 Laps
14 Ratthapark


THA Thai Honda PTT Singha SAG Bimota 154.9 14 Laps


Promoharris 152.9 19 Laps
48 Shoya TOMIZAWA JPN Technomag-CIP Suter 136.5 19 Laps

Team Scot

Force GP210 151.2 20 Laps
52 Lukas PESEK CZE Matteoni

CP Racing

Moriwaki 136.3 20 Laps
21 Vladimir LEONOV RUS Vector

Kiefer Racing

Suter 142.5 22 Laps
77 Dominique


SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 93.9 22 Laps
55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Marc

VDS Racing Team

Suter 82.8 22 Laps
39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans


Suter 0


44 Roberto ROLFO ITA Italtrans


Suter 0


6 Alex DEBON SPA Aeroport

de Castello – Ajo

FTR 0 Lap
63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Mapfre

Aspar Team

Suter 0 La


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Bob 114 First Look (6 Fast Facts)

When the Softail Standard was released last year and functionally the same motorcycle as the Street Bob, we knew something had to be afoot...

2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special First Look: Hot Rod Bagger

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special is a Touring model that The Motor Company puts in a sub-category—Hot Rod Bagger. To earn that title,...

2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally Coming To America

We told you all about the new 2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally last month. Although we fully expected the pair to be imported...

2021 Harley-Davidson Fat Boy 114 First Look (Specs, Photos, Prices)

The distinctive Harley-Davidson Fat Boy is back for 2021, with the Milwaukee-Eight 114 powerplant and machined solid cast aluminum Lakester wheels. We tested the...

2021 Husqvarna 701 Lineup First Look (6 Fast Facts + Photos)

There are two 2021 Husqvarna 701 motorcycles to choose from—the Enduro and the Supermoto. Although they are closely related, with the same frame and...