News GP 125 Catalunya Results: Young Gun

GP 125 Catalunya Results: Young Gun

125 GP Results

Marc Márquez became the youngest ever rider to take four successive Grand Prix wins today when he triumphed in the 125cc Gran Premi Aperol de Catalunya.

Taking the record off Valentino Rossi, the 17 year-old Spaniard won by a comfortable margin as he underlined his dominance of the category with his third victory from pole position.

Bradley Smith got a fantastic start from the front row and led into Turn 1 but when he ran wide at the exit it was Márquez who took advantage to shoot through and immediately start building an early lead as the field settled into their rhythm.

Unfortunately for Esteve Rabat his race was ended prematurely – as it had been in the previous round at Assen – when he crashed out at Turn 10 on the opening lap.

Randy Krummenacher made an impressive start to rise from 14th to seventh, whilst towards the front a battle for second started to settle between Smith, Nico Terol and Pol Espargaró, as they became detached from the remainder of the field and Márquez continue to build his lead.

There were further fallers in the form of Alexis Masbou and Sturla Fagerhaug as they pushed for positions further down the field, but the real battle was unfolding between the trio competing for the remaining two podium positions. Luis Salom was forced to retire shortly after.

As the final quarter of the race approached Márquez had established an unassailable lead, which stood at close to four seconds, but Smith, Espargaró and Terol were incredibly closely matched as they engaged in a tactical contest. The distance back to fifth placed Sandro Cortese had stretched to almost 40 seconds as the last two laps beckoned.

Drama on the final lap saw Terol try to make a move but have to pull back suddenly to avoid hitting Espargaró and he ran wide and dropped to the back of the trio. The tension peaked further when the Bancaja Aspar rider then had a highside as he pushed hard, ending his participation.

That left Smith to take his second podium of the season and cross the line in second place at 4.638s off winner Márquez. Espargaró was a further 0.358s back as he took third.

Cortese won the battle with Efrén Vázquez for fourth place, with Tomoyoshi Koyama sixth and Krummenacher seventh. Johann Zarco, Jonas Folger and Danny Webb completed the top ten.

125 GP Records



2010 Marc MARQUEZ 1’50.543 153.9


Fastest Lap: Lap: 9 Pol ESPARGARO 1’50.590 153.9


Circuit Record Lap: 2010 Pol ESPARGARO 1’50.590 153.9


Best Lap: 2007 Gabor TALMACSI 1’50.012 154.7



The result moved Márquez onto 132 points and into top spot in the standings, with Espargaró now second at just a point behind. Terol’s non-finish means he is now third on 118, with Smith remaining in fourth and now on 94 points.

125 GP Results – Barcelona, Sunday, July 04, 2010

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Red

Bull Ajo Motorsport

Derbi 153.0 40’46.315
2 20 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Bancaja

Aspar Team

Aprilia 152.7 +4.638
3 16 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti


Derbi 152.7 +4.996
4 13 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Avant

Mitsubishi Ajo

Derbi 150.3 +45.366
5 11 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Tuenti


Derbi 150.2 +45.433
6 10 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Racing

Team Germany

Aprilia 150.0 +49.685
7 9 35 Randy


SWI Stipa-Molenaar Racing GP Aprilia 150.0 +49.735
8 8 14 Johann ZARCO FRA WTR

San Marino Team

Aprilia 150.0 +49.743
9 7 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Ongetta


Aprilia 150.0 +49.775
10 6 99 Danny WEBB GBR Andalucia


Aprilia 149.8 +53.115
11 5 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Aeroport

de Castello – Ajo

Aprilia 149.5 +58.669
12 4 15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Fontana


Aprilia 149.4 +58.800
13 3 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia


Aprilia 149.3 +1’02.050
14 2 78 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Interwetten

Honda 125

Honda 148.5 +1’15.497
15 1 63 Zulfahmi


MAL AirAsia – Sepang Int. Circuit Aprilia 148.4 +1’16.029
16 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Racing

Team Germany

Aprilia 147.8 +1’26.441
17 69 Louis ROSSI FRA CBC


Aprilia 147.4 +1’33.613
18 87 Luca MARCONI ITA Ongetta


Aprilia 147.2 +1’36.186


Honda 147.2 +1’36.223
20 60 Michael VAN


NED Lambretta Reparto Corse Lambretta 147.2 +1’36.340
21 59 Johnny ROSELL SPA SAG


Honda 146.8 +1’43.804
22 72 Marco RAVAIOLI ITA Lambretta

Reparto Corse

Lambretta 146.1 +1’55.331
23 56 Peter SEBESTYEN HUN Right

Guard Racing

Aprilia 141.3 1 Lap
Not Classified
40 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bancaja

Aspar Team

Aprilia 152.8 1 Lap
39 Luis SALOM SPA Stipa-Molenaar

Racing GP

Aprilia 147.0 8 Laps
17 Eduard LOPEZ SPA Catalunya

Racing Team

Aprilia 143.2 11 Laps
55 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Catalunya

Racing Team

Aprilia 147.0 12 Laps
50 Sturla FAGERHAUG NOR AirAsia

– Sepang Int. Circuit

Aprilia 147.9 15 Laps
5 Alexis MASBOU FRA Ongetta


Aprilia 148.2 17 Laps
Not Starting
12 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX Aprilia 0 Lap


Aprilia 0


32 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Matteoni

CP Racing

Aprilia 0 Lap


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...