Jeremy McGrath MMI Scholarships Awarded

SX Report

The 2010 Motorcycle Mechanics Institute (MMI) Jeremy McGrath Scholarship recipients were awarded at the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, season finale at Las Vegas' Sam Boyd Stadium.

Donny Adams, Mark Wilson Jr., and Jacob Koehn finished first, second and third respectively in the season-long search for three deserving recipients.

The MMI Jeremy McGrath Scholarship is designed for students with a passion for working with motorcycles to submit an application and a two-minute DVD expressing why they should receive the scholarship.

Three individuals are selected and share the $20,000 grant toward his/her program of choice at the MMI campus in Phoenix, Ariz. or Orlando, Fla. The first, second and third place recipients will receive $10,000, $6,000 and $4,000, respectively.

"This year's competition for the Jeremy McGrath Scholarship was more competitive than ever before," said MMI's Terry Emig, Director of Motorsports & Event Marketing. "It was extremely hard to narrow it down to only three recipients, but in the end, we are honored to present Donny, Mark and Jacob with this once in a lifetime reward. We can't wait to see what caliber of applicants will join us next season."

This is the seventh year that Monster Energy Supercross and MMI have teamed up to offer the Jeremy McGrath Scholarship.

Last season marked the first year the award went to three aspiring mechanics with Jason Abney, Hazel Wirth and Brandon Dooley receiving the scholarship. Previous recipients include Todd Hunn (2005), Mary Morgan (2006), Matthew Langham (2007) and Tyler Sherbet (2008).

As part of the application process, McGrath will personally review the 10 semi-finalist DVDs and then conduct phone interviews with each of the four finalists before making his final selection in Las Vegas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.