Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Dungey Clinches 2010 Supercross Title

Dungey Clinches 2010 Supercross Title

2010 SX Championship

After a night of unpredictable twists and turns, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey effectively claimed the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship, an FIM World Championship, at the Edward Jones Dome in St. Louis. At the same time, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto took himself out for the remainder of the season.

The set-up for the St. Louis SX battle was epic–through 13 rounds, neither rider had battled head-to-head for the win, despite capturing the top spot in 12 of the races. But, on this night, they were one-two and banging bars. In the aftermath of a hard pass attempt by Villopoto amid lappers, both he and Dungey on the ground.

Upon remounting, Villopoto moved into the lead with Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short, on a CRF450R and Dungey right behind on his RM-Z450. Just two laps later, right in front of a charging Dungey, Villopoto miscalculated a tough rhythm section that claimed a number of riders, and bailed off his KX450F mid-air when he realized he could not complete a triple. The crash left the winningest rider of the year with a broken leg.

Dungey’s victory moved him into a 77-point lead over the next closest SX contender in third, San Manuel Yamaha’s Josh Hill on a YZ450F. With only 75 points available over the final three races, Dungey’s lead is insurmountable. When the race is over next week in Seattle, Dungey will join legendary Jeremy McGrath as the only two riders in history to capture the premier class championship as a rookie.

Ryan Dungey says: "It got really hectic out there tonight. I had a great start so that was a huge help. We worked really hard this week to come out here in St. Louis prepared. It’s unfortunate that Ryan (Villopoto) crashed. I hope he is ok."

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel had clinched the 2010 AMA Supercross Lites Eastern Regional Championship for the second year last week and the second-place rider, Suzuki’s Austin Stroupe, was out with an injury. One might expect Pourcel to cruise to a victory lap win. Instead, Pourcel was pushed wide early when battling up front. His KX250F got hung up on a tough block, effectively ending his evening.

Geico Powersports Honda’s Justin Barcia sprinted off to a huge lead on his CRF250R and cruised home with his second win of the season. Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson finished second, after some early dicing with competitors.

Justin Barcia
says: "I pulled it together tonight. I learned that the holeshot makes the race go a lot easier. Everyone on the team did a great job with my bike, and I am pumped to pick up this win."

Supercross Results St. Louis
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
4. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
5. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Kawasaki
6. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
7. Michael Byrne, Park City, Utah, Yamaha
8. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha
9. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
10. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki

Supercross Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 302
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 266
3. Josh Hill, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 225
4. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 223
5. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 215
6. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 191
7. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 183
8. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 159
9. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki, 139
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 136

Eastern Lites Results St. Louis

1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda
2. Dean Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki
3. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
4. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha
5. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
6. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda
7. Michael Willard, Newark, Ohio, Honda
8. Mathew Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Suzuki
9. Steve Clarke, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki
10. Kyle Keylon, Brooksville, Fla., Suzuki

Eastern Lites Standings
1. Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki, 160
2. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 147
3. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 133
4. Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki, 126
5. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 118
6. Dean Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki, 105
7. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 93
8. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda, 84
9. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 83
10. Michael Willard, Newark, Ohio, Honda, 66

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...