AMA Supercross invades Canada

Dungey vs. Villopoto

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey brings a 20-point lead in the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series across the border into Canada and Toronto’s Rogers Centre, as he tries to old off Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, who dominated the field last week at Dayton Beach.

In the AMA Supercross Lites Eastern Regional Championship race, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel hopes to continue his perfect run of wins at the first three rounds of the eight-round series. Keeping Pourcel honest in the Lites class is Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Austin Stroupe, who has three straight runner-up finishes to his credit.

Local favorites for the Canadian round will be Canada native and Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki rookie Dean Wilson and Honda of Troy’s Michael Willard, a Canadian Motocross veteran.

Last year in Toronto, San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart scored his ninth win of the season as he chased then points leader Chad Reed. Stewart went on to win the championship last year, but he has been sidelined with an injury for most of this season.

Chad Reed, who has also been injured, is expected to return to action in Toronto. In Daytona Beach, he was the fastest qualifier, but chose not to ride the grueling 20-lap race. Last year, Pourcel captured his first-ever AMA Supercross Lites Eastern Regional Championship main event win at Rogers Centre en route to a championship.

Dungey rode to a strong runner-up finish at Dayton, minimizing the loss of points in the standings to only three, and Honda Red Bull Racing’s Trey Canard (moonlighting from the AMA Supercross Lites Western Regional Championship series), posted his second consecutive podium finish in third.

The first AMA Supercross race held in Toronto was December 4, 2004, and Honda-mounted Ricky Carmichael won on a Honda. Since then, both James Stewart and Chad Reed have two wins. With a rusty Reed and a questionable Stewart, a first-time Toronto winner is a likely possibility.

SPEED will broadcast the Toronto Supercross from the Rogers Centre live, starting at 7:30 p.m. EST, in both HD and normal resolution.

AMA Supercross Class Results: Daytona Beach
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki
Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha
Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha
Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 192
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 172
Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 162
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 150
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 131
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 124
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 117
Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 99
Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 82
Michael Byrne, Noonan, Ga., Yamaha, 80

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: Daytona Beach

Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki
Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki
Dean Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki
Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha
Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
Darryn Durham, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda
Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki, 75
Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki, 66
Dean Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki, 53
Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 50
Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 44
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 39
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 39
Nico Izzi, Albany, Ga., Yamaha, 30
Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., 29
Jake Moss, Temecula, Calif., 27

Past Winners in Toronto
AMA Supercross Class
March 28, 2009 – James Stewart
March 29, 2008 – Chad Reed
December 2, 2006 – Chad Reed
December 3, 2005 – James Stewart
December 4, 2004 -Ricky Carmichael

AMA Supercross Lites Class
March 28, 2009 – Christophe Pourcel

Tickets are available at the Rogers Centre Box Office, all Ticketmaster locations, by phone at 416-870-8000 and at participating Gold Circle tickets are $40.00; Extreme seats are $25m and Treadhead cost seats $15. Pizza Pizza kids seats are $15.