Supercross race results San Diego

Supercross Results

After a day filled with rain, a well-groomed track greeted riders inside San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium for the fifth round of the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship. 51,843 Southern California fans braved the weather as Davi Millsaps, of Murrieta, California, captured the AMA Supercross class victory. Monster Energy / Pro Circuit / Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer, of Rupert, Idaho, won his fourth AMA Supercross Lites class victory in five races of the Western Regional Championship.

As the gates dropped on the premier AMA Supercross class main event, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Nick Wey, of Murrieta, California, grabbed the SPIKE Holeshot Award, followed by Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short, of Smithville, Texas, and Valli Motorsports Yamaha’s Ivan Tedesco, of Murrieta, California. In the first corner, points leader and Rockstar/Makita Suzuki rider Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., lost his rear wheel and fell, collecting several other riders.

After remounting mid-pack, Dungey fell again heading to the finish-line double and dropped to the tail end of the field. At the front, Millsaps made his move for the lead on lap three and never looked back. San Manuel Yamaha’s Josh Hill, of Carlsbad, California, finished second while Tedesco brought home third.

Davi Millsaps Speaks…

"Yeah it was a good night for me," said Millsaps. "I came out on top. American Honda is the best crew in world. The tack was slick. You had to just be smooth, consistent and make no mistakes and that’s what I did. It was such an amazing race and I can’t explain how good it feels."

As the AMA Supercross Lites class blasted out of the gates, GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard, of Shawnee, Okla., grabbed the SPIKE Holeshot Award with Weimer and teammate Blake Wharton, of Pilot Point, Texas, in second and third, respectively. Canard found trouble and went down on the first lap, allowing Weimer to get by and lead the rest of the way, inching closer to the Western Regional title.

Jake Weimer Speaks…

"Yeah it was a good night," said Weimer. "I was able to get a good start right behind Trey (Canard) and unfortunately he went down. I was able to get by and I just tried to be consistent from there. The track was definitely tricky but it held up well."

Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda’s Cole Seely, of Newbury Park, Calif., earned his best-career finish in second while teammate Wil Hahn, of Decatur, Texas, finished third.

Dungey currently holds a four-point advantage over Hill in the AMA Supercross standings while Weimer leads Canard by 26 points.

2010 AMA Supercross Class Results: San Diego
1) Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
2) Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha
3) Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
4) Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
5) Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
6) Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
7) Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki
8) Grant Langston, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
9) Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
10) Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha

2010 AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
1) Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 105
2) Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 101
3) Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 95
4) Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 82
5) Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 77
6) Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 72
7) Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 69
8) Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 66
9) Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki, 56
10) James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 51

2010 Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: San Diego
1) Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
2) Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda
3) Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda
4) Max Anstie, Hemet, Calif., Yamaha
5) Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha
6) Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda
7) Phil Nicoletti, Bethel, N.Y., KTM
8) P.J. Larsen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
9) Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda
10) Chris Gosselaar, Spring Valley Lake, Calif., Honda

2010 Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

1) Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 122
2) Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 96
3) Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 94
4) Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 78
5) Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda, 76
6) Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 71
7) Max Anstie, Hemet, Calif., Yamaha, 63
8) Josh Hansen, Elbert Colo., Kawasaki, 56
9) Jeff Alessi, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 45
10) Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 42