Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport U.S. Open Supercoss race results

U.S. Open Supercoss race results

James Stewart, who rides for the San Manuel Yamaha motocross race team, swept both nights of racing to win his third Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open tonight inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena and took home $100,000.

Honda’s Dan Reardon, of Murrieta, Calif., won the holeshot before being passed by Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., later in lap one. Villopoto took advantage of Stewart’s poor start and opened up a big lead while Stewart began working his way through the field.

On lap four, Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., quickly passed Reardon and set his sights on Villopoto. Stewart and Villopoto traded positions on lap 10 as Stewart moved into the lead and rode off to the win. Honda Red Bull Racing’s Davi Millsaps, of Tallahassee, Fla., passed Reardon for third place on the second to last lap.

"It was a fun race," said Stewart. "I didn’t get the start that I wanted but I got the job done. The money is one thing but our team works really hard so this is rewarding for them. I was able to put in some really strong laps after I made my way around (Dan) Reardon."

Chris Alldredge pushed his Yamaha to tonight’s moto win in the Alpinestars 85cc Mini Invitational and the overall championship. Alldredge, who finished second last night, opened a big lead over last night’s winner Adam Cianciarulo. On the final lap, Cianciarulo pulled up to Alldredge’s back wheel, but was unable to pass him.

"I tried to get the best start I could," said Alldredge. "Last year I came into this race and didn’t do that well. I learned how to ride the whoops a lot better so I will be more comfortable when I race supercross."

"I got hit off the start and came out almost dead last; it was hard to work through the pack," said Cianciarulo. "I tried my best and tried to make up time where I could. I will be back next year."

Saturday Night Open Class Results

1. James Stewart, Yamaha
2. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
3. Davi Millsaps, Honda
4. Dan Reardon, Honda
5. Michael Byrne, Suzuki
6. Matt Boni, Honda
7. Nick Wey, Yamaha
8. Ezra Lusk, Suzuki
9. Tyler Bowers, Yamaha
10. Chris Blose, Honda

Overall Open Class Results

1. James Stewart, Yamaha, 53
2. Davi Millsaps, Honda, 44
3. Dan Reardon, Honda, 40
4. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki, 31
5. Michael Byrne, Suzuki, 27
6. Nick Wey, Yamaha, 27
7. Tyler Bowers, Yamaha, 27
8. Chris Blose, Honda, 26
9. Matt Boni, Honda, 25
10. Matt Georke, Yamaha, 18

Saturday Night Alpinestars 85cc Mini Invitational

1. Chris Alldredege, Yamaha
2. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
3. Thomas Covington, Kawasaki
4. Colton Ford, KTM
5. Brandan Leith, KTM
6. Keith Tucker, Yamaha
7. Troy Graffunder, Yamaha
8. Cole Heath, Yamaha
9. Jesse Masterpool, Suzuki
10. Daniel Baker, KTM
11. Nick Gaines, Kawasaki
12. Andrew Pierce, Kawasaki

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....

Harley-Davidson IRONe12 Review (14 Fast Facts)

Electric bicycles are growing in popularity across a broad spectrum of people and a wide array of uses. This is a story about one...