Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Schedule | 12-Round Calendar

2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Schedule | 12-Round Calendar

2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Schedule

Following an intense year of action that saw the Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac beating KTM’s Marvin Musquin by a mere 17 points for the 450SX title, the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross schedule has been announced.

Once again the outdoor MX season will consist of 12 rounds, beginning with the oldest race on the calendar, the Hangtown Motocross Classic, on May 19, and finishing with the Ironman National on August 25.

Kawasaki's Eli Tomac into 2018 MX
Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac, the 2017 450SX Champion

The Hangtown race will be a historic one; the national celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2018 before the season continues its journey across 11 states. A highlight of 2018 will surely be the annual Independence Day race at RedBud, which will also host the 2018 FIM Motocross of Nations.

“Following an incredible 2017 season that saw a pair of new champions emerge with American motocross’ most esteemed title, it’s anyone’s guess as to who will make their presence felt in 2018,” said MX Sports Pro Racing President Davey Coombs.

“We welcomed an array of new winners last season, and this new generation of riders is surely going to continue to showcase the bright future of the sport. So many of the tracks in the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross are etched in the annals of history, and they continue to thrill fans and challenge riders to the fullest. It’s why winning this championship is such a milestone achievement for any racer.”

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship has served as the preeminent competition in motocross since 1972, and remains arguably the most difficult championship to win in all of motorsports. In 2017, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac broke through for his first 450 Class title, while Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Zach Osborne parlayed a breakout season into his first championship in the 250 Class.

2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule

  1. May 19: Hangtown Motocross, Classic Prairie City, SVRA Rancho Cordova, California
  2. May 26: Glen Helen National, Glen Helen Raceway, San Bernardino, California
  3. June 2: Thunder Valley National, Thunder Valley MX Park, Lakewood, Colorado
  4. June 16: High Point National, High Point Raceway, Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania
  5. June 23: Tennessee National, Muddy Creek Raceway, Blountville, Tennessee
  6. June 30: Southwick National Southwick MX Park Southwick, Massachusetts
  7. July 7: RedBud National, RedBud MX, Buchanan, Michigan
  8. July 21: Spring Creek National, Spring Creek MX Park, Millville, Minnesota
  9. July 28: Washougal National, Washougal MX Park, Washougal, Washington
  10. August 11: Unadilla National, Unadilla MX, New Berlin, New York
  11. August 18: Budds Creek National, Budds Creek MX Park, Mechanicsville, Maryland
  12. August 25: Ironman National, Ironman Raceway, Crawfordsville, Indiana

2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Schedule

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2021 BMW K 1600 GTL First Look (7 Fast Facts from European Sources)

The flagship of BMW tourers—the 2021 BMW K 1600 GTL—has a few deviations from last year. There’s nothing huge, though there are new colors,...

2021 Jack Daniel’s Limited Edition Indian Roadmaster Dark Horse [Debut]

The partnership between Jack Daniel Distillery and Indian Motorcycle continues with the 2021 Jack Daniel’s Limited Edition Roadmaster Dark Horse. As has been done...

Suzuki MX-Tuner 2.0 First Look: Aggressive, Smoother, Richer, and Leaner

Owners of late-model RM-Z motocrossers will rejoice the news of the all-new Suzuki MX-Tuner 2.0 tuning system for their motorcycles. The new system features...

2021 BMW S 1000 XR First Look (5 Fast Facts From Europe)

We just got through testing the BMW S 1000 XR, and now we’re looking at the 2021. Our European sources tell us that there...

Yamaha YDX-Moro and YDX-Moro Pro First Looks (13 Fast Facts)

Yamaha continues to expand its pedal-assist electric bicycle range with the new YDX-Moro and YDX-Moro Pro. Both are designed as off-road capable two-wheelers that...

MV Agusta and Akrapovič Partner: New Exhaust Systems Coming

Italy’s legendary MV Agusta and Slovenia’s celebrated Akrapovič are partnering to create new exhaust systems for MV Agusta motorcycles. Both MV Agusta and Akrapovič...