Imola Supersport Results | Sofuoglu Wins Red Flag Race

Imola Supersport Results | Sofuoglu Wins Red Flag Race
Kawasaki's Kenan Sofuoglu

2016 Imola Supersport Results

Imola Supersport Results | Sofuoglu Wins Red Flag Race
Kawasaki’s Kenan Sofuoglu

When Kawasaki Puccetti Racing’s Kenan Sofuoglu began his 2016 World Supersport journey to retain the title, things didn’t go too well.

The 31-year-old Turkish rider crashed out of round one at Phillip Island while in the lead with three laps to go. But from there, three-time WSS Champion would claim three podiums – second in Thailand, a win at Motorland Aragon, and third in Assen.

The Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R pilot’s podium streak continued at Imola this weekend, Sofuoglu earning another win after a race that was shortened due to a red flag. Sofuoglu earned the win at his team’s home round ahead of MV Agusta Reparto Corse’s Jules Cluzel and Honda World Supersport Team’s PJ Jacobsen.

Heavy rain had fallen overnight, but the race track was dry. But a leak from the ZX-6R of the other Puccetti rider, Randy Krummenacher, caused a red flag, and Krummenacher was not able to restart.

When the shortened race was restarted, Sofuoglu led all 11 laps, finishing 1.429 seconds ahead of Cluzel. This placed him in the World Supersport points lead with 86, 15 ahead of Krummenacher, and 28 ahead of Cluzel.

“I really believe we deserve this result. It was a very, very good weekend for us as we were always fastest, even in the wet. Only in Superpole was I not the fastest but I was just one lap late with my final push. We did a good job today at the home race for the team in Italy,” Sofuoglu says.

“I love Imola and I cannot say more because I am leading the championship again. We lost 25 points in Australia because of bad luck but this can happen in racing. Anyway we are back in the championship lead and I am very happy with today’s result.”

MV Agusta’s Alex Baldolini finished in a lonely fourth, ahead of Kawasaki’s Alessandro Zaccone and MV Agusta’s Lorenzo Zanetti. Rounding out the top 1-0 were Kawasaki’s Ondrej Jezek, Honda’s Federico Caricasulo, Honda’s Ayrton Badovini and MV Agusta’s Nicolas Terol.

The series now breaks for two weeks ahead of round five at Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia.