2016 Foxborough 250SX Results | Husky’s Davalos Scores Again

2016 Foxborough 250SX Results | Husqvarna Martin Davalos

2016 Foxborough 250SX Results

2016 Foxborough 250SX Results | Husky's Davalos Scores Again
Husqvarna’s Martin Davalos

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Martin Davalos captured his second win of the 2016 season and became the first 250SX class main event winner at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass.

Davalos began the main event in fourth place, but was able to move into podium position on the second lap after passing Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers.

Read Foxborough 450 Supercross Recap & Results

He then went after Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull KTM’s Shane McElrath over the next few laps and made the pass for second place on the seventh lap and set his sights on race leader, GEICO Honda’s Malcolm Stewart.

On lap eight, the top three began a heated battle for the lead, which allowed Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin to close in from fourth. As they finished the lap, Davalos made the pass on Stewart for the lead, while McElrath was unable to complete the finish-line jump and lost third to Martin in the process.

Davalos pulled away from Stewart, who then under pressure from Martin, with the Yamaha rider eventually moving into the runner-up position on lap nine. From there, it was a two-rider battle for victory over the final five laps.

Martin closed in on Davalos and was even able to show a wheel in some corners, but as they navigated through lappers, the distance between them increased. Davalos pulled away in the closing laps and took the win by nearly four seconds.

“It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve been able to ride like this,” said Davalos, who claimed his fourth career victory. “Martin was riding really good and Stewart was leading there early on. I just had to focus on my laps. I knew the track would be rutted after the rain in the morning, but it turned out to be a great day and I’m just really pumped.”

Martin’s runner-up finish follows up his win one week ago in St. Louis. Stewart rounded out the podium in third, rebounding from a season-worst outing at the previous race.

“I’m just happy to be up here on the podium,” said Stewart. “Overall, the race didn’t go as planned, but it was better than last week when I crashed three times. We’ll keep plugging away and moving forward.”

With his podium result, Stewart extended his lead in the Eastern Regional 250SX Class standings to five points over Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger, who finished fifth. Martin is third, 14 points out of the lead with two races remaining.

Bowers, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Gannon Audette, GEICO Honda’s RJ Hampshire, Traders Racing Kawasaki’s Anthony Rodriguez, and CycleTrader/Rock River/Yamaha’s Luke Renzland rounded out the top ten, respectively.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Foxborough 250SX Results – Round 15

  1. Martin Davalos – Husqvarna FC250
  2. Jeremy Martin – Yamaha YZ250F
  3. Malcolm Stewart – Honda CRF250R
  4. Shane McElrath – KTM 250SX-F
  5. Aaron Plessinger – Yamaha YZ250F
  6. Tyler Bowers – Kawasaki KX250F
  7. Gannon Audette – Kawasaki KX250F
  8. RJ Hampshire – Honda CRF250R
  9. Anthony Rodriguez – Kawasaki KX250F
  10. Luke Renzland – Yamaha YZ250F
  11. Justin Starling – Kawasaki KX250F
  12. Henry Miller – Honda CRF250R
  13. Dakota Alix – KTM 250SX-F
  14. Paul Coates – Honda CRF250R
  15. Daniel Herrlein – Honda CRF250R
  16. Vann Martin – Honda CRF250R
  17. Jimmy Albertson – Suzuki RM-Z250
  18. Jacob Williamson – Kawasaki KX250F
  19. Alex Frye – KTM 250SX-F
  20. Tyler Bereman – Kawasaki KX250F
  21. Cody Church – Kawasaki KX250F
  22. Darryn Durham – Yamaha YZ250F