2016 Foxborough Supercross Results | Roczen Holds Off Elimination

2016 Foxborough Supercross Coverage
Dungey Holeshot

2016 Foxborough Supercross Coverage |
Roczen Takes 4th Win; Tomac, Dungey on Podium

Foxborough Supercross Coverage
Dungey Holeshot

Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen became the first Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Main Event winner at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass., with a commanding twilight ride. Roczen came around the first corner in 3rd place, but quickly made his way around Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Josh Grant.

Roczen then made a clean pass on Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey before the end of the first lap and rode flawlessly from there, finishing nine seconds ahead of Dungey to take his fourth win of the year and first since Round 10 at Toronto.

Foxborough Supercross Results - Ken Roczen
Ken Roczen - Winner

“The track was really tough out there, but I got off to a great start” said Roczen. “It was really slippery on some spots. You were almost just riding so you didn’t make mistakes. There were hard pack sections and ruts, which made it really challenging tonight. I felt awesome. We have a great program and I am super stoked to come away with the first win here in Boston and we will focus on next weekend.”

Roczen’s win prevented Dungey from clinching the 2016 Monster Energy Supercross championship. With two rounds remaining, Dungey leads Roczen by 41 points and Dungey can win the championship at the next round in East Rutherford with a 14th place finish or better, regardless of Roczen’s finishing position.

“I struggled a little bit tonight, but that’s racing,” Dungey said. “We knew it was a possibility to wrap up the championship tonight, but it wasn’t the main goal—it would have been a bonus. We’re going to come back next weekend and give the fans a good show.”

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac made his way up to third place behind Ryan Dungey on Lap 3. After applying pressure, Tomac conducted a textbook pass on the following lap. He rode the remaining 16 laps unchallenged in 2nd, grabbing his first podium since winning Round 9 at Daytona.

Foxborough Supercross Results - Eli Tomac
Eli Tomac

Dungey began his race brilliantly, grabbing the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot Award, but dropped to 4th on Lap 12 after being passed by Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson. However, Dungey was able to regain 3rd from Anderson on lap 16 when Anderson had brake troubles.

“I got a Heat race win and was feeling pretty good, Anderson said. “ I went into the Main and was feeling great. I was battling with Dungey, but lost my front brake in the process. I settled into 4th and just rode on from there.”

Dungey’s 3rd place performance kept alive his record-setting streak of podium finishes that stretches back to Round 2 of the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross Series.

Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard began the race in 7th, and quickly passed GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Josh Grant, holding 5th for the rest of the race, comfortably beating Bogle by nearly 17 seconds. Grant faded outside of the top 10, falling prey to Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely (7th) and Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick (8th) on Lap 14.

Monster Energy/Chapparal/360fly/Yamaha Factory Racing’s Chad Reed started 12th, and worked his way up to 9th, while Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin took the final top 10 slot, dropping back from 8th at the start.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results, Round 15, Foxborough, Mass.

  1. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450
  2. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F
  3. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F
  4. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450
  5. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R
  6. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF450R
  7. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R
  8. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F
  9. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F
  10. Marvin Musquin– KTM 450 SX-F
  11. Josh Grant – Kawasaki KX450F
  12. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F
  13. Mike Alessi - Honda CRF450R
  14. Broc Tickle – Suzuki RM-Z450
  15. Nick Wey – Kawasaki KX450F
  16. Vince Friese – Honda CRF450R
  17. Cade Clason – Honda CRF450R
  18. AJ Catanzaro – Kawasaki KX450F
  19. Justin Barcia – Yamaha YZ450F
  20. Alex Ray – Honda CRF450R
  21. Nick Schmidt – Suzuki RM-Z450
  22. Jake Weimer – Suzuki RM-Z450

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Standings (after 15 of 17 rounds)

  1. Ryan Dungey, 348 points (8 wins)
  2. Ken Roczen, 305 (4 wins)
  3. Jason Anderson, 278 (2 wins)
  4. Eli Tomac, 248 (1 win)
  5. Chad Reed, 220
  6. Marvin Musquin, 199
  7. Cole Seely, 187
  8. Trey Canard, 170
  9. Justin Brayton, 170
  10. Weston Peick, 115
  11. Jake Weimer, 115
  12. Mike Alessi, 113
  13. Justin Bogle, 109
  14. Davi Millsaps, 105
  15. Christophe Pourcel, 94
  16. Vince Friese, 81
  17. Josh Grant, 64
  18. Blake Baggett, 62
  19. Wil Hahn, 56
  20. Justin Barcia, 39

Next Monster Energy Supercross Round:
April 30, 2016, East Rutherford, NJ, MetLife Stadium, Round 16.
TV Coverage: Fox Sports 1, 7pm ET.

2016 Foxborough Supercross Gallery by Simon Cudby


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.