2016 Jerez Moto2 Results | Four Rounds, Four Different Winners

2016 Jerez Moto2 Results | Four Rounds, Four Different Winners
Sam Lowes at Jerez Moto2

2016 Jerez Moto2 Results

Four races, four winners. The non-repeating winner story continues for the 2016 Moto2 Championship

The latest rider claim victory was the Brit Sam Lowes, who earned his first win of 2016 Moto2 at the Spanish Grand Prix held on the 2.75-mile Jerez circuit containing 13 corners. Lowes finished runner-up in rounds two and three in Argentina and Texas, respectively, but was finally able to earn the win.

And earn he did; the 25-year-old Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Kalex pilot claimed the pole position, and battled to remain up front. When Jerez Moto2 was completed, Lowes, who led 25 laps out of 26, took the win 2.480 seconds ahead of Jonas Folger (Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex) and 8.113 seconds ahead of Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex’s Alex Rins, who won at Austin’s Circuit of the Americas two weeks ago.

“It was a long race, no doubt! I knew that Folger had a good pace and I knew that also Rins was in the game, so I was expecting a tough race. The track conditions have changed several times over the weekend and today have changed again, with higher temperatures,” Lowes said.

“However, here we have made many tests in the winter and thanks to this work the bike always worked very well. After the two second places, obtained racing two strong races, I was confident ahead of this event. I wanted to try to win and I did it, so I’m very happy for this first victory of the season. Now we look forward to Le Mans and the rest of the season!”

When Jerez Moto2 2016 began, Folger got to turn one first, but Lowes quickly retaliated, taking the leading position back. Folger followed closely for up to 10 laps, but from there Lowes found something extra and pulled away to earn the win.

Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS’s Franco Morbidelli finished in a lonely fourth, over two seconds behind Rins and nearly four seconds ahead of the reigning Moto2 Champion, Ajo Motorsports’ Johann Zarco.

Leopard Racing’s Miguel Oliveira was in contention for a top five, but crashed out at lap 21, allowing Garage Plus Interwetten’s Thomas Luthi to earn sixth. Rounding out the top 10 were Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia), Dominique Aegerter (CarXpert Interwetten), Luis Salom (SAG Team) and Xavier Simeon (QMMF Racing Team).

With his three podiums in four rounds, Lowes now has 72 points, 10 ahead of Rins. Zarco is third with 56 points, 16 behind Lowes.

The 2016 Moto2 Championship breaks for two weeks ahead of the Monster Energy Grand Prix de France at Le Mans.

2016 Jerez Moto2 Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 22 Sam LOWES GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Kalex 153.4 44’58.624
2 20 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 153.2 +2.480
3 16 40 Alex RINS SPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex 152.9 +8.113
4 13 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex 152.8 +10.659
5 11 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Ajo Motorsport Kalex 152.5 +14.594
6 10 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Garage Plus Interwetten Kalex 152.5 +16.019
7 9 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 152.4 +16.352
8 8 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI CarXpert Interwetten Kalex 152.3 +18.433
9 7 39 Luis SALOM SPA SAG Team Kalex 152.1 +21.502
10 6 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 151.6 +31.300
11 5 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex 151.3 +35.980
12 4 54 Mattia PASINI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 151.3 +37.348
13 3 32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 151.3 +37.454
14 2 2 Jesko RAFFIN SWI Sports-Millions-EMWE-SAG Kalex 150.6 +48.923
15 1 70 Robin MULHAUSER SWI CarXpert Interwetten Kalex 150.2 +55.832
16 10 Luca MARINI ITA Forward Team Kalex 149.9 +1’01.795
17 7 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA Forward Team Kalex 149.5 +1’09.465
18 42 Federico FULIGNI ITA Team Ciatti Kalex 149.5 +1’10.201
19 33 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 Kalex 149.4 +1’10.642
Not Classified
44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Leopard Racing Kalex 152.6 6 Laps
23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER AGR Team Kalex 147.4 15 Laps
52 Danny KENT GBR Leopard Racing Kalex 139.9 21 Laps
49 Axel PONS SPA AGR Team Kalex 127.8 21 Laps
11 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 151.0 22 Laps
73 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex 148.4 24 Laps
24 Simone CORSI ITA Speed Up Racing Speed Up 144.9 25 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 0 Lap
97 Xavi VIERGE SPA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 0 Lap



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.