Motorcycle Racing News 2015 Classic TT Formula Two Race Lineup Led by Ian Lougher

2015 Classic TT Formula Two Race Lineup Led by Ian Lougher

2015 Classic TT Formula Two Race Lineup

2015 Classic TT Formula Two Race Lineup Led by Ian Lougher
Scenes from 2014 Classic TT Formula Two Race

Once again the Motorsport Merchandise Formula Two Race will conclude the Classic TT on Bank Holiday Monday. Ian Lougher, the man who earned last year’s win, which was also his second of the 2014 Classic TT, will led the grid. En route to the win during last year’s Classic TT, the Welshman Lougher lapped in excess of 111mph. Lougher is back to try and make it consecutive wins, this time on board the Laylaw Racing entered 250cc Yamaha on a team part run by former TT winner Eddie Laycock.

His closest challenger is likely to be James Cowton, the youngster having finished runner up the inaugural event in 2013. He had to miss last year’s race after a testing incident at Jurby but he’s reunited with Peter Berwick’s TZ250 Yamaha for 2015.

Manxman Ryan Kneen is a new name on the Classic TT Formula Two entry list with the Braddan rider also TZ250-mounted and having enjoyed a highly successful time on the Mountain Course at this year’s TT, he’s definitely one to watch. The same applies to Michael Sweeney on the second of the Laylaw Racing Yamaha’s and with the Skerries rider now fully recovered from injuries sustained at the TT, he’s another welcome addition to the race.

Class regular Chris Moore (JL Exhausts Racing Team) took second last year in the Classic TT Formula Two race, and will be pushing for a podium once more with Phil McGurk again expected to be challenging strongly at the head of the field. Meanwhile, another long-time two-stroke exponent, Phil Harvey, makes his Classic TT debut on Dave Dean’s 250cc Yamaha and should also be a front runner.

Tom Snow spearheads the FCL Racing challenge with regular TT competitor David Hewson (Obsession Engineering), Pete Boast (MCN Sport) and Manx Grand Prix favourite Rob Hodson (JGH Racing/Brian Scott) just a few more riders on board the favoured TZ250 Yamaha.

The evergreen Peter Symes, Ewan Hamilton and Chris Barratt are back for another effort while youngster Billy Redmayne is at the opposite end of the road racing spectrum, the Laxey rider on board a Team Collins and Russell Kawasaki as he adds the Classic TT to his Manx GP attempt.

The 26-strong field for the Classic TT Formula Two race is primarily made up of two-strokes but there are a handful of four-strokes on the grid too, most notably two GPZ 600 Kawasakis in the hands of Shaun Anderson and Derek Glass.

The race also sees one newcomer take to the Mountain Course with former 125cc and Superstock 600cc British Championship regular Joe Akroyd entered on a 250cc Suzuki.

Bring the Honda Solo to America: One More MiniMoto

We were poking through the archives, and this little gem re-caught our attention. The 2003 Honda Solo was part of Honda’s N Project. According...

2019 Honda CB500F Review: Enhance Your Motorcycle Passion

Perhaps I’m a bi-biker; my procrastination so far in my moto-life is whether I’m an urban chickadee or wannabe MotoGP racer. When I laid...

2021 Houston 2 Fantasy Supercross Tips (19 Fast Facts)

Looking at the results of the opening round of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series, I’m reminded of what futurist Jamais Cascio said,...

Team RB Freestyle Randie and Birdman Motorcycle Stunt Riders

Hello Rider Readers, It’s Randie Raige of Team RB Freestyle here! Come take an inside look at tandem stunt riding with me. That’s right, two...

2021 Aprilia Tuono V4 Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The Aprilia Tuono V4 has earned a reputation for being an uncompromisingly high-performance upright sportbike. Note that we didn’t say naked, as it has...

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....