Sachsenring Moto2 2015 Results | Simeon Claims Debut Win

Sachsenring Moto2 2015 Results | Simeon Claims Debut Win
Xavier Simeon at Sachsenring Moto2 2015

Sachsenring Moto2 2015 Results

Sachsenring Moto2 2015 Results | Simeon Claims Debut Win
Xavier Simeon at Sachsenring Moto2 2015

For the first time of his six-year Moto2 career, the Belgian Federal Oil Gresini pilot Xavier Simeon claimed victory. Simeon fought hard with Ajo Motorsports Johann Zarco for the victory, eventually earning his debut Moto2 win ahead of Zarco by a mere 0.083 of a second.

Taking the final podium was Paginas Amarillas HP 40’s Alex Rins, who finished in a lonely third, 1.646 seconds behind Simeon and nearly five seconds ahead of fourth-place finisher Simone Corsi on the Athina Forward Racing Honda.

The reigning Moto2 Champion, Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Racing’s Tito Rabat, was in contention for third, but was taken out on the final lap by Franco Morbidelli (Italtrans Racing Team) at turn 13. Both riders suffered DNFs as the 25-year-old Simeon took the win.

“I’m so happy! We did a good time in qualifying and I knew I was consistently fast, but we had to think very hard about tyre choice because the two different tires we could use were very similar,” Simeon says following Sachsenring Moto2 2015.

Sachsenring Moto2 crash 2015 Results | Simeon Claims Debut Win
Tito Rabat and Morbidelli crash

“We changed at the last minute on the grid and that was the key – at the end of the race I could push just as hard as at the beginning. In the early laps there were some big battles, so I took it a bit easy, then when I saw Johann going away I passed Morbidelli and pushed so hard to make sure Johann couldn’t get way. Then I knew I could win, if I rode at 200 percent and made no mistakes.”

Ahead of Sachsenring Moto2 2015, Zarco earned his third-straight pole. But when the race began, he dropped to third at turn one, passed Morbidelli. But Zarco quickly regained the lead.

Most riders during Sachsenring Moto2 2015 were on a medium front tire, but Morbidelli was on a soft option. This came into play as the race went on; he challenged Zarco for the first half, but his tire began to wear and he was passed by Simeon at turn 12 with nine laps remaining.

Simeon began pushing, and passed Zarco with four laps to go. Zarco would remain right on Simeon’s exhaust, but couldn’t make a pass for the win. Simeon became the first Belgian to win a World Championship race since 1983.

”I made a good race and a good pace, I was confident because my bike was very good all weekend. A lot of times in the past I’ve started from the first row but I didn’t take the opportunity to get on the podium, so this time I thought ok, I’ll take it,” Simeon says.

Fourth-place Corsi finished ahead of Speed Up Racing’s Sam Lowes and Derendinger Racing Interwetten’s Thomas Luthi in fifth and sixth, respectively. Rounding out the top 10 at Sachsenring Moto2 2015 were Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia), Lorenzo Baldassarri (Athiná Forward Racing), Julián Simón (QMMF Racing Team) and Dominique Aegerter (Technomag Racing Interwetten).

Moto2 now breaks for four weeks ahead of round 10 of 18 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Sachsenring Moto2 2015 Results:

1Xavier Simeon41’09.295GERHONDAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2
2Johann Zarco0.083FRAHONDAAjo Motorsport
3Alex Rins1.646ESPHONDAPaginas Amarillas HP 40
4Simone Corsi6.386ITAHONDAAthina Forward Racing
5Sam Lowes9.284GBRHONDASpeed Up Racing
6Thomas Luthi10.432SWIHONDADerendinger Racing Interwetten
7Takaaki Nakagima10.592JPNHONDAIdemitsu Honda Team Asia
8Lorenzo Baldassarri12.518ITAHONDAAthina Forward Racing
9Julian Simon14.862SPAHONDAQMMF Racing Team
10Dominique Aegerter14.953SWIHONDATechnomag Racing Interwetten
11Sandro Cortese17.529GERHONDADynavolt Intact GP
12Mika Kallio18.820FINHONDAItaltrans Racing Team
13Randy Krummenacher21.849SWIHONDAJIR Moto2
14Jonas Folger22.362GERHONDAAGR Team
15Axel Pons23.275SPAHONDAAGR Team
16Hafizh Syahrin23.429MALHONDAPetronas Raceline Malaysia
17Luis Salom28.507ESPHONDAPaginas Amarillas HP 40
18Alex Marquez32.740ESPHONDAEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS
19Ricard Cardus33.465ESPHONDATech 3
20Robin Mulhauser33.508SWIHONDATechnomag Racing Interwetten
21Jesko Raffin55.191SWIHONDAEmwe SAG team
22Thitipong Warokorn57.449THAHONDAAPH PTT The Pizza SAG

Moto2 Point Standings (after nine of 18 rounds):

1Johann Zarco179 ptsFRAHONDAAjo Motorsport
2Esteve Rabat114 ptsESPHONDAEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS
3Sam Lowes107 ptsGBRHONDASpeed Up Racing
4Alex Rins103 ptsESPHONDAPaginas Amarillas HP 40
5Thomas Luthi99 ptsSWIHONDADerendinger Racing Interwetten
6Xavier Simeon84 ptsGERHONDAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2
7Jonas Folger77 ptsGERHONDAAGR Team
8Franco Morbidelli62 ptsITAHONDAItaltrans Racing Team
9Julian Simon47 ptsSPAHONDAQMMF Racing Team
10Mika Kallio47 ptsFINHONDAItaltrans Racing Team
11Dominique Aegerter43 ptsSWIHONDATechnomag Racing Interwetten
12Lorenzo Baldassarri37 ptsITAHONDAAthina Forward Racing
13Luis Salom36 ptsESPHONDAPaginas Amarillas HP 40
14Sandro Cortese35 ptsGERHONDADynavolt Intact GP
15Simone Corsi35 ptsITAHONDAAthina Forward Racing
16Hafizh Syahrin34 ptsMALHONDAPetronas Raceline Malaysia
17Takaaki Nakagima32 ptsJPNHONDAIdemitsu Honda Team Asia
18Alex Marquez30 ptsESPHONDAEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS
19Anthony West17 ptsAUSHONDAQMMF Racing Team
20Randy Krummenacher13 ptsSWIHONDAJIR Moto2
21Marcel Schrotter12 ptsGERHONDATech 3
22Axel Pons9 ptsSPAHONDAAGR Team
23Louis Rossi7 ptsFRAHONDATasca Racing Scuderia Moto2
24Azlan Shah1 ptsMALHONDAIdemitsu Honda Team Asia
25Edgar Pons0 ptsESPHONDAPaginas Amarillas HP 40
26Zaqhwan Zaidi0 ptsTHAHONDAJPMoto Malaysia
27Thitipong Warokorn0 ptsTHAHONDAAPH PTT The Pizza SAG
28Robin Mulhauser0 ptsSWIHONDATechnomag Racing Interwetten
29Ricard Cardus0 ptsESPHONDATech 3
30Mattia Pasini0 ptsITAHONDAAthina Forward Racing
31Jesko Raffin0 ptsSWIHONDAEmwe SAG team
32Florian Alt0 ptsGERHONDAOcto Iodaracing Team

Sachsenring Moto2 2015 Photo Gallery