Road America KTM RC 390 Cup Results | McAllister Doubles

Road America KTM RC 390 Cup Results | McAllister Doubles
KTM RC 390 Cup Race 2 Action

Road America KTM RC 390 Cup Results

Road America KTM RC 390 Cup Results | McAllister Doubles
KTM RC 390 Cup Race 2 Action

The five-race KTM RC 390 Cup – a support series for MotoAmerica – debuted this past weekend at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis. One rider dominated the 27-rider grid – California’s Gage McAllister, who swept the weekend to earn a perfect 50 points.

The series is similar to other spec-support series, such as the PATA European Junior Cup, which uses spec CBR650F machinery. Based on the street-going KTM RC 390, the Cup race bike offers upgraded fully adjustable WP suspension, an Akrapović muffler, a KTM PowerParts 320mm front rotor, racing brake pads, stainless-steel braided brake lines, adjustable hand levers, racing footpegs (with optional “upside-down” shift pattern), racing bodywork (with larger windscreen), racing chain and sprockets, removed ABS, and a lower fairing that doubles as a oil catch.

Unpredictable Wisconsin weather challenged the young riders, who are ages 14-22. It rained during Friday’s practices, and wet conditions also plagued Saturday’s qualifying and opening race.

Taking the first-ever pole for the KTM RC 390 Cup was Josh Serne of Placerville, Calif. But Serne crashed on the sighting lap, and he was forced to sit out race one.

McAllister, who qualified third, took the lead early in the race. But he wasn’t alone; behind, Hayden Schultz and Anthony Mazziotto III closed in, and a three-way battle began.

Road America KTM RC 390 Cup Results | McAllister Doubles
KTM RC 390 Cup Race 1 Action

The riding got heated, and Mazziotto crashed, which forces Schultz off the track. Schultz also crashed, allowing McAllister to finish the race unchallenged. Joining him on the KTM RC 390 Cup race one podium were Illinois native Jody Barry and Texas native Brandon Altmeyer. During the final laps Barry and Altmeyer battled for the second place position but in the end it was Barry who claimed the spot behind McAllister, with Altmeyer rounding out the podium.

“That was really my first race in the rain but it was the perfect bike to do it on, the KTM was really smooth in the rain,” McAllister commented. Rounding out the top five were Justin McWilliams and Ruben Casarez.

Race two was just exciting, with the three top riders – the Canadian Braeden Ortt, Barry and McAllister – battling for the first on the 4.048-mile circuit on the closing laps.

McAllister and Barry made a last-minute attempt to get around Ortt for the lead but it was McAllister who made it stick in the final turn before the finish to claim the race two victory. Ortt claimed the second place position, while Barry edged out Altmeyer for the final podium position.

“It was a very smart move on Gage’s part, he got me on the draft and made the pass right before the finish,” Ortt said. “It was a tough last lap but we have to play it smart at the end. I’m just happy to be here.”

McAllister made it a perfect weekend with two race-wins, where he tops the RC Cup Series standings with 50 points after the first round.

“This track suits me well,” McAllister said. “I knew it was going to be tough but we managed to break free from the others and it was close to the end.”

Barry sits in the second place position with 39 points, with a tie for third between Braeden Ortt and Brandon Altmeyer, who each sit with 29 points, while Justin McWilliams sits seven points back in fifth.

Round two of the 2015 KTM RC Cup takes place June 12-14 at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama. For more information, please visit

KTM RC Cup Standings after round one of five:

  1. Gage McAllister (50)
  2. Jody Barry (36)
  3. Braeden Ortt (29)
  4. Brandon Altmeyer (29)
  5. Justin McWilliams (22)
  6. Ruben Casarez (17)
  7. Christopher Kosan (13)
  8. Hayden Schultz (12)
  9. Nolan Lamkin (12)
  10. Josh Serne (10)
  11. Grayson Gerloff (8)
  12. Gabe Miller (8)
  13. Mason De Keyrel (7)
  14. Drew Sivertsen (6)
  15. John Knowles (5)
  16. Nicholas Swensgard (4)
  17. Jake Fell (3)
  18. Nick Doolan (2)
  19. Jaret Nassaney (2)


2015 Road America KTM RC 390 Cup Results – Photo Gallery