Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport KTM Earns 14th Straight Title at 2015 Dakar Rally | Video

KTM Earns 14th Straight Title at 2015 Dakar Rally | Video

2015 Dakar Rally Video

Ahead of the 37th edition of the Dakar Rally, KTM had earned 13-straight Dakar Rally titles. And nine of those arrived from just two riders – Red Bull KTM pilot Marc Coma (Spain) and his former teammate Cyril Despres (France).

Unfortunately for motorcycle fans, the ongoing battle between Coma and Despres ceased when the Frenchman switched to four wheels for 2015.

This immediately made Coma the favorite, and the odds were with him. Due to his vast experience and patience, the Spaniard garnered this year his fifth Dakar Rally title. This also earned KTM 14-consecutive Dakar titles, and unstoppable bragging rights.

When the “world’s toughest race” concluded in Buenos Aires Saturday – after 5,775 miles in 13 days, with nearly 3,000 of these timed specials – Coma took the win by nearly 17 minutes ahead of Team HRC Honda’s Paulo Gonclaves. Taking the final podium was the KTM-supported rookie Toby Price, who finished over 23 minutes behind.

Following the race, Coma said “I’m happy and proud. As usual it was a grueling rally. We had to overcome a problem on the second day that slowed us down a bit in the rankings. So from then on we had to change the strategy a little and push to recover that time. We knew that the marathons would be key stages and they were. I am happy with the team and the people we have around us. This fifth win says a lot about all of us. The level was very high and this also makes the win very valuable.”

KTM Earns 14th Straight Title at 2015 Dakar Rally | Video
Red Bull KTM’s Marc Coma

Speaking of KTM’s dominance in Dakar, KTM CEO Stefan Pierer said: “That Marc Coma sealed his fifth and the 14th consecutive Dakar win for KTM is a personal success for Marc and each team member and invaluable for the entire company. The very strong KTM-supported riders have a large share in this outstanding overall result, above all Toby Price. His third place caused a sensation.

“The run of the 2015 Dakar Rally once again showed how unique and unpredictable this race is. Even stage winners like Sam Sunderland and Matthias Walkner didn´t make it to the finish line. The conditions were extremely exhausting for all involved. Everyone who made it to the finish in Buenos Aires is a winner.”

During the 13-stage Dakar Rally, Coma took the overall lead after stage eight from Team HRC Honda’s Joan Barreda Bort. Barreda was Coma’s main rival, but suffered some electronical issues aboard his Team HRC Honda CRF 450 Rally, which dropped him drastically back. When 2015 Dakar Rally was complete, Barreda – who led the Rally from stage 2 through seven – finished 17th overall, nearly six hours behind Comca.

For more, visit 2015 Dakar Rally Final Results, and check out the official motorcycle recap video above.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

24 of the Best Retro Motorcycles For Under $10k (2020 Models)

Although going retro can be expensive when buying a new motorcycle, there are plenty of excellent wallet- and credit-friendly choices in the visually appealing...

Harley-Davidson Screamin’ Eagle 131 Crate Engine Unveiled for Tourers

Harley-Davidson has unveiled its newest Screamin' Eagle crate engine - one that makes the popular 120R crate motor seem small in size. Meet the Screamin'...

Triumph Partners With Bajaj Auto: New Models Coming

Britain’s Triumph Motorcycles and India’s Bajaj Auto Limited will be working together to produce Triumph motorcycles in the 200cc to 750cc range. The two...

2019 Yamaha Niken GT Two-Up Test: Passenger-Friendly Motorcycle

We’ve reviewed the quirky-looking 2019 Yamaha Niken GT a couple of times, and comprehensively covered the technical side of the three-wheel motorcycle. Based on...

2020 Triumph Thruxton RS Test: Retro-Modern Motorcycle

The city of Albufeira is a sight for travel-weary eyes. Located in the Algarve region of Portugal on the Mediterranean coast, I dare say...

2020 MotoGP Schedule: 20-Round FINAL Calendar (Dates, Circuits, Tests)

Dorna has finalized the 2020 MotoGP schedule, which features some significant changes over the 2019 calendar. The 2020 MotoGP calendar grows one round to 20...