2015 Phoenix Supercross Results from Chase Field

KTM's Ryan Dungey at Phoenix Supercross
KTM's Ryan Dungey

2015 Phoenix Supercross Results

Spoiler Alert: 2015 Phoenix Supercross results from Chase Field listed below.

GIECO Honda’s Eli Tomac got off to a bad start during the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross season opener at Anaheim 1 last week. He was quickest during A1 qualifying, but suffered two crashes in the main event, eventually finishing 20th.

But the sophomore 450 rider’s performance was beyond impressive at round 2 of 2015 SX in Chase Field, Phoenix. Tomac entertained his home crowd of nearly 50,000 fans with his debut win in the 450 class.

The GEICO Honda CRF450R pilot was joined on the Phoenix Supercross podium by RCH Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John’s Factory Suzuki’s Ken Roczen and Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

When the 20-lap main event began, Tomac earned the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot award ahead of Dungey and Roczen. But Roczen – the 2014 AMA Motocross Champion – quickly took over the lead on the opening lap, and quickly opened up a multi-bike gap on Tomac. But Tomac wasn’t about to be beat or crash this time; he searched for the most optimal line, and caught up to Roczen.

On lap six, Tomac took the lead, and the two battled intensely for two laps. But Tomac got the best of the German, and went on to open a lead, eventually taking the win. This was Tomac’s debut win after 15 SX starts, and he became the 58th different winner in the 450 Supercross class.

“That was one of the [most fun] races of my life and to come away with a win is a cherry on top,” says Tomac. “To beat a guy like Ken (Roczen); we respect each other and race each other hard. It’s just great. We definitely put our biggest effort into this [after last weekend’s misfortunes], and this is what he came out here to do.”

Roczen took second, and due to his 1-2 finishes this season, he retains the overall points lead with 47 – nine ahead of his former teammate and third-place finisher at Phoenix Dungey.

“I got off to a fast start but overall I didn’t feel the greatest tonight,” said Roczen. “I put it down the first 10 laps (or so), but then Eli got me. He rode better than me tonight, but I’m very happy to finish on the podium. We’ll do some work this week and come out next weekend looking to get a good start, ride smart and come away with another good result.”

Dungey didn’t earn an easy third, though; he fought with Autotrader.com/Toyota/Yamaha’s Weston Peick during the closing laps. Dungey made his pass stick on lap 17, and was able to take his first podium of 2015 SX (the former SX Champion Dungey finished fourth at Anaheim 1).

Peick earned fourth – his best finish in 450 Supercross – and was followed by the man who replaced Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Davi Millsaps – the rider who replaced four-time Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto on the KX-F450 pilot.

Rounding out the top 10 were Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson, Red Bull KTM’s Andrew Short, Team Honda’s Trey Canard in eighth, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer and Discount Tire Racing/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed.

In the Western Regional 250SX Class, Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Cooper Webb made it a night of firsts with his maiden victory, giving that division back-to-back first-time winners to start the season.

During the main, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Zach Osborne captured the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot Award in front of Webb and GEICO Honda’s Malcolm Stewart. As the three riders jockeyed for position, Stewart was able to take over the lead and open a gap while Webb battled with Osborne for second, Feld Motor Sports reports.

With Stewart well out front, Webb made his way by Osborne by Lap 2 and methodically closed down the deficit to the leader. On Lap 4, Webb made his move on Stewart and checked out on the field, leading the final 11 laps to become the 98th different 250SX Class winner in the history of the sport, Feld Motor Sports says.

“I got an awesome start and that helped a lot,” said Webb, who won in his 11th career start. “Phoenix was one of my favorite races last year, so to get it done here feels awesome. It feels good to (move into) second in points, but I’ll feel better to get that red plate (as the championship leader).”

Stewart maintained the runner-up spot to earn the best finish of his career, while opening race winner and current points leader Jessy Nelson put his Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM on the podium for the second consecutive week in third.

“It was great tonight getting my second (career) supercross podium and two (podiums) in a row to start the season,” said Nelson. “I feel great, I just had to battle there for six or seven laps. I’ll just need to work on some things for next week. We have a six-point lead and still have the red plate [as the points leader], so all in all it’s a good night.”

Nelson sits six points ahead of Webb, who moved from seventh to second with his victory, in the Western Regional 250SX Class championship standings. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers is third, seven points back following his fourth-place finish on Saturday, Feld Motor Sports says.

The 2015 Monster Energy Supercross series heads next Saturday, Jan. 17, back to Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., for round three. Fox Sports 1 will provide live broadcast coverage beginning at 7 p.m. PT.

2015 Phoenix Supercross Results, 450:

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
  2. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki
  3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  4. Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
  5. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
  6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna
  7. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
  8. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda
  9. Jake Weimer, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
  10. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki

450SX Class Season Standings (after two of 17 rounds):

  1. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki, 47
  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 38
  3. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 37
  4. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 33
  5. Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 32
  6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 30
  7. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 26
  8. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha, 25
  9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 22
  10. Jake Weimer, Wildomar, Calif., 22
  11. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 22

2015 Western Regional 250SX Class Results:

  1. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha
  2. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda
  3. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM
  4. Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
  5. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha
  6. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM
  7. Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna
  8. Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM
  9. Zach Bell, Cairo, Ga., Husqvarna
  10. Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda

Western Regional 250SX Class Season Standings:

  1. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM, 45
  2. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 39
  3. Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 38
  4. Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna, 36
  5. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM, 33
  6. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha, 32
  7. Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM, 28
  8. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 23
  9. Zach Bell, Cairo, Ga., Husqvarna, 22
  10. Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki, 20
  11. Michael Leib, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 20