2015 Anaheim I 250 Supercross Results

Red Bull KTM's Jerry Nelson at A1
Red Bull KTM's Jerry Nelson

2015 Anaheim I 250 Supercross Results

KTM could not have been happier with its decision to provide the Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/KTM team with factory equipment as Jessy Nelson would lead the Anaheim I Monster Energy Supercross 250 race from start to finish.

The California native pulled one of his patented holeshots and never looked back, maintaining a respectable distance from the rest of the pack. What made Nelson’s performance even more noteworthy was that prior to Anaheim 1, Nelson had never landed on the podium in a 250 Supercross main event.

The KTM rider attributed his success to proper off season training and coming into the season ready to race.

“Coming in healthy and being able to put in some solid months of training has made the difference. Last year I came into the season injured, so that played a factor in my results. This year I have come in healthy and strong. I can’t thank my team and everybody enough. It’s been a long road and it’s cool to be on top,” Nelson said.

Second place would go to Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne. After switching to the rebranded machine during the off season, Osborne set out to prove that he is a contender for the title. He would start in second place and maintain the position until the checkered flag.

What made Osborne’s performance even more impressive was that he rode with a broken thumb after a collision with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers during his heat race. He later confided to the amount of pain he was actually in.

“I was about to take my gear off and call it a night after the heat race, but I had to push through. I really feel that I had a chance to win the main event,” Osborne said.

After topping the board in qualifying practice earlier on in the day, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers would make his way up to third after a sixth-place start. He was able to pass Justin Hill in the latter portion of the race, but would not have the time or the speed to catch up to Osborne.

The multi-time Arenacross champion was pleased with his performance: “I am pumped to be on the podium. I’m no rookie and I know it’s a long season. I will try to make my way up from here.”

After qualifying second in practice, Red Bull KTM’s Justin Hill blasted his way into the first corner of the main event with a fifth place start. He quickly made his way into fourth after the first four turns passing Cooper Webb.

He was then able to cut underneath GEICO Honda’s Matt Bisceglia by lap 5 to overtake third, but only for a number of laps as he would later be passed by Bowers. Hill remained in fourth place for the duration of the race. Hill’s smooth, calculated style and undeniable speed will undoubtedly propel him to the top step of the podium this season, especially as the tracks become more technical.

One of the most impressive rides of the night came from Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rookie Aaron Plessinger. The Ohio native used the momentum he acquired from winning the Amateur All Stars class at the Monster Energy Cup back in October to card a top-five finish in his first-ever 250 Supercross race.

What made his performance even more impressive was that he had to come through the pack after a 14th place start. Look for the Yamaha mounted rookie to make his way to the podium with better starts as the season progresses.

Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/KTM’s Shane McElwrath finished sixth to begin his second year of 250 Supercross competition while Cooper Webb, Alex Martin, Josh Hansen, and Michael Leib rounded out the top 10.

Darryn Durham would not have the start to the season that he wanted after getting collected with two other riders in a tricky rhythm section halfway through the race. Malcolm Stewart got tangled with some other riders as well, which resulted in a 22nd place finish. The GEICO Honda rider walked off the track holding his hand, clearly in pain.

2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250 Lites Results – Round 1 – Anaheim:

1. Jessy Nelson – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition
2. Zach Osborne – Husqvarna FC 250
3. Tyler Bowers – Kawasaki KX250F
4. Justin Hill – KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition
5. Aaron Plessinger – Yamaha YZ250F
6. Shane McElwrath – KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition
7. Cooper Webb – Yamaha YZ250F
8. Alex Martin – Yamaha YZ250F
9. Josh Hansen – Kawasaki KX250F
10. Michael Leib – Honda CRF250R
11. Zach Bell – Husqvarna FC 250
12. Scott Champion – Yamaha YZ250F
13. Matt Bisceglia – Honda CRF250R
14. Tommy Hahn – Honda CRF250R
15. Trevor Reis – Yamaha YZ250F
16. Nico Izzi – Yamaha YZ250F
17. Austin Politelli – Yamaha YZ250F
18. Ryan Breece – Yamaha YZ250F
19. Zack Freeburg – Yamaha YZ250F
20. Cole Martinez – Yamaha YZ250F
21. Darryn Durham – KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition
22. Malcolm Stewart – Honda CRF250R

Photography by Don Williams


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.