Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT BMW’s Dunlop Leads Red Flagged Isle of Man TT Wednesday Qualifying

BMW’s Dunlop Leads Red Flagged Isle of Man TT Wednesday Qualifying

2014 isle of Man TT Wednesday Qualifying

Only one lap was completed in Wednesday’s third qualifying session of the 2014 Isle of Man TT. The reason? Rain and a red flag due to an incident at Barregarrow.

The red flag occurred as riders got away on the second lap. Newcomer Laruent Hoffman crashed at the top of Barregarrow. He was flown to Nobles Hospital, where he was examined for leg injuries and is undergoing further assessment.

And when the 37.73-mile Snaefell Mountain Course circuit was finally cleared for qualifying, heavy rain began falling. This caused the Clerk of the Course to cancel any further qualifying.

When Wednesday began under cloudy and spotty rain conditions, some of the top contenders opted to pilot their 1000cc super bikes for Dainese TT qualifying, but others decided to ride their Supersport machines.

Hawk Racing BMW’s Michael Dunlop and Milwaukee Yamaha’s Ian Hutchinson were the first off aboard their perspective superbikes, followed by by TYCO Suzuki’s Guy Martin and Quattro Kawasaki’s James Hillier, the latter two also on superbikes.

Also piloting super bikes were TYCO Suzuki’s William Dunlop, Lincs Honda’s Gary Johnson and Bathams Prize BMW’s Michael Rutter.

As for the others – RAF Honda’s Conor Cummins, Valvoline Honda’s Bruce Anstey, RigDeluge Honda’s Keith Amor and Cookstown Honda’s Dan Keen – they all piloted their perspective 600cc machines in the Supersport and Superstock classes.

Leading the way in the Superbike class was BMW’s Michael Dunlop, who posted a fastest lap of 128.690 – the quickest of the day. This was just shy of his best lap on Tuesday. Following was Martin, who posted a quickest lapp of 128.052.

Third fastest was William Dunlop, who posted a 127.911 mph. He was followed Rutter, Harrison, SMT Honda’s Dan Stewart, and Hutchinson the only other riders to break the 125mph marker.

The newcomers again posted good laps with six of them over the 110mph barrier – Peter Hickman (117.895), Martin Jessopp (115.607), Vick de Cooremeter (114.410), Phil Crowe (113.910), Alan Bonner (112.447) and Danny Webb (112.203), with Crowe and Webb both posting personal bests, the IOM TT reports.

Cummins was the quickest Superstock machine at 126.268mph with Anstey posting a speed of 123.127mph to top the Supersport time sheets but with rain falling, particularly from Ramsey onwards, John McGuinness completed a lap at 122.387mph and James Hillier at 121.527mph on their Superbikes, comfortably down on their speeds earlier in the week, the IOM TT Reports.

Qualifying continues Thursday; stay clicked to Ultimate MotorCycling for the results.

Photography by Wayne Freestone

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...