Kawasaki’s Sofuoglu Wins Aragon World Supersport | Video Highlights

Kawasaki’s Sofuoglu Wins Aragon World Supersport | Video Highlights
Kawasaki’s Kenan Sofuoglu at Aragon Supersport

2014 Aragon World Supersport Results

Three-time World Champion Kenan Sofuoglu took his first win of the 2014 World Supersport season this past weekend at Motorland Aragon in Spain.

The Kawasaki Mahi Racing Team India ZX-6R pilot took the win after two of his main rivals – Jules Cluzel and Kev Coghlan – crashed ahead of him, allowing him to ride to victory alone.

Sofuoglu, who suffered a DNF in the Phillip Island opener, was joined on the podium by Pata Honda World Supersport’s Michael van der Mark and Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres pilot Florian Marino, respectively.

When the race began, six riders swapped places with MV Agusta RC – Yakhnich Motorsport’s Cluzel, the winner at Phillip Island. En route, Cluzel also claimed the a new lap record at Aragon.

As the race continued the leading group split with van der Mark, Sofuoglu, and Cluzel joining Coghlan (DMC Panavto-Yamaha) battling for victory.

Cluzel and Coghlan collided with each other at the back straight on lap 12, giving the lead to Sofuoglu. Cluzel was suffered a DNF, but Coghlan would remount and finish fifth.

This allowed Coghlan to keep the World Supersport points lead; the British rider has 31 points, just two ahead of Marino, and five ahead of Raffaele De Rosa (CIA Insurance Honda), who finished sixth at Aragon. Tied with 25 points in fourth and fifth is Sofuoglu and Cluzel.

The series now breaks for two weeks before heading to Assen in The Netherlands.

Attached above are video highlights of Aragon World Supersport.

2014 Aragon World Supersport Results:

1Kenan Sofuoglu30m43.276sTURKAWASAKIMAHI Racing Team India
2Michael van der Mark0.869NEDHONDAPata Honda
3Florian Marino9.091FRAKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
4Lorenzo Zanetti10.475ITAHONDAPata Honda
5Kev Coghlan15.194GBRYAMAHADMC Panavto-Yamaha
6Raffaele De Rosa18.579ITAHONDACore PTR Honda
7Roberto Tamburini19.059ITAKAWASAKISan Carlo Puccetti Racing
8Vladimir Leonov19.666RUSMV AGUSTAMV Agusta RC-Yakhnich Motorsport
9Christian Gamarino19.846ITAKAWASAKITeam GO ELEVEN
10Ratthapark Wilairot20.077THAHONDACore PTR Honda
11Jack Kennedy24.569IRLHONDACIA Insurance Honda
12Roberto Rolfo25.187ITAKAWASAKITeam GO ELEVEN
13Dominic Schmitter25.535SUIYAMAHAHAGN-SKM Racing Team
14Patrick Jacobsen28.843USAKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
15Fabio Menghi28.904ITAYAMAHAVFT Racing
16Marco Bussolotti33.148ITAHONDATeam Lorini
17Tony Covena43.243NEDKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
18Fraser Rogers56.196GBRHONDACom Plus South Tyneside College
19Alexey Ivanov56.460RUSYAMAHADMC Panavto-Yamaha
20Nacho Calero1’11.373ESPHONDACIA Insurance Honda
21Jules CluzelDNFFRAMV AGUSTAMV Agusta RC-Yakhnich Motorsport
22Alessandro NoccoDNFITAKAWASAKISan Carlo Puccetti Racing
23Riccardo RussoDNFITAHONDATeam Lorini
24Kevin WahrDNFGERYAMAHATeam Wahr by Kraus Racing

2014 World Supersport Point Standings:

1Kev Coghlan31 ptsGBRYAMAHADMC Panavto-Yamaha
2Florian Marino29 ptsFRAKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
3Raffaele De Rosa26 ptsITAHONDACore PTR Honda
4Kenan Sofuoglu25 ptsTURKAWASAKIMAHI Racing Team India
5Jules Cluzel25 ptsFRAMV AGUSTAMV Agusta RC-Yakhnich Motorsport
6Roberto Tamburini20 ptsITAKAWASAKISan Carlo Puccetti Racing
7Michael van der Mark20 ptsNEDHONDAPata Honda
8Lorenzo Zanetti13 ptsITAHONDAPata Honda
9Christian Gamarino13 ptsITAKAWASAKITeam GO ELEVEN
10Kevin Wahr10 ptsGERYAMAHATeam Wahr by Kraus Racing
11Roberto Rolfo9 ptsITAKAWASAKITeam GO ELEVEN
12Graeme Gowland9 ptsGBRTRIUMPHSmiths Triumph
13Vladimir Leonov8 ptsRUSMV AGUSTAMV Agusta RC-Yakhnich Motorsport
14Riccardo Russo8 ptsITAHONDATeam Lorini
15Fabio Menghi8 ptsITAYAMAHAVFT Racing
16Ratthapark Wilairot6 ptsTHAHONDACore PTR Honda
17Jack Kennedy5 ptsIRLHONDACIA Insurance Honda
18Tony Covena4 ptsNEDKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
19Nacho Calero3 ptsESPHONDACIA Insurance Honda
20Patrick Jacobsen2 ptsUSAKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
21Marco Bussolotti2 ptsITAHONDATeam Lorini
22Fraser Rogers1 ptsGBRHONDACom Plus South Tyneside College
23R Taylor0 ptsAUSYAMAHAOZ Wildcard Racing
24Alexey Ivanov0 ptsRUSYAMAHADMC Panavto-Yamaha