2014 Qatar Moto2 Results from Losail

2014 Qatar Moto2 Results from Losail
Caterham's Josh Herrin in his debut Moto2 race at Qatar
2014 Qatar Moto2 Results from Losail
Marc VDS Racing’s Tito Rabat en route to the win at Qatar

2014 Qatar Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2014 Moto2 results from Qatar’s Losail International Circuit.

If one rider deserved the win at the opening round of 2014 Moto2 at Qatar’s Losail International Circuit, Esteve Rabat was the rider.

The Marc VDS Racing Team pilot who secured the Qatar Moto2 pole had a difficult opening lap, but later rode nearly flawlessly to win on the final corner of the 3.34-mile circuit containing 16 corners.

Rabat’s teammate Mika Kallio was third in the race, though second place finisher Takaaki Nakagami (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia) was later disqualified for the use of a non-regulation air filter.

Rabat aims to win the title this year after emerging as a Moto2 race winner last season and he looked threatening throughout the Qatar weekend, ultimately beating Nakagami to the line by 0.04s after they had battled for the lead for several laps.

Rabat ran wide on the first lap and dropped to fifth but had too much for his closest rivals over the 20 lap contest, coming back well to take win.

His colleague Kallio will also be looking for wins in 2014 having finished a second behind the front two, eventually being moved up to second due to Nakagami’s disqualification.

Three seconds behind Kallio was Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2), the Swiss rider crossing the line three tenths ahead of Moto3 World Champion Maverick Viñales (Pons HP 40) who made an excellent Moto2™ debut.

Simone Corsi (NGM Forward Racing) ran well from 10th on the grid beating debutant Sam Lowes (Speed Up) who also performed solidly in his first Grand Prix, their final results being classified as fifth and sixth.

The top 10 was completed by Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP), Jordi Torres (Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2), Anthony West (QMMF Racing Team) and Louis Rossi (SAG Team).

A disastrous start for the AirAsia Caterham Moto Racing team saw the American Josh Herrin and Johann Zarco crash on the first lap, with Alex De Angelis (Tasca Racing Moto2) and Xavier Simeon (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) also involved.

Gino Rea and Mashel Al Naimi had stopped mid-race with technical problems, whilst with 8 laps to go in Axel Pons and Marcel Schrotter crashed out.

Dominique Aegerter pulled off with 5 laps to go, smoke pouring from his exhaust, ending his 33 race run of consistent point scoring finishes. Nico Terol was also affected by mechanical problems at a similar stage of the race and he will look to bounce back next time out at the Circuit of the Americas where he won last year.

The Moto2 Championship returns in three weeks at the Circuit of the Americas in Texas.

2014 Qatar Moto2 Results from Losail International Circuit:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 53 Esteve RABAT SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 160.0 40’20.963
2 20 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 159.9 +1.059
3 16 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 159.7 +3.741
4 13 40 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Pons HP 40 Kalex 159.7 +4.043
5 11 3 Simone CORSI ITA NGM Forward Racing Forward KLX 159.6 +5.830
6 10 22 Sam LOWES GBR Speed Up Speed Up 159.0 +14.170
7 9 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 158.3 +24.943
8 8 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 158.3 +25.196
9 7 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 158.3 +25.322
10 6 96 Louis ROSSI FRA SAG Team Kalex 158.2 +26.687
11 5 94 Jonas FOLGER GER AGR Team Kalex 158.2 +26.873
12 4 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA Tech 3 Tech 3 158.2 +26.914
13 3 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI IodaRacing Project Suter 157.9 +31.671
14 2 39 Luis SALOM SPA Pons HP 40 Kalex 157.3 +40.588
15 1 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex 157.3 +40.695
16 60 Julian SIMON SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 157.2 +41.810
17 54 Mattia PASINI ITA NGM Forward Racing Forward KLX 157.1 +44.030
18 25 Azlan SHAH MAL IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 156.5 +52.813
19 97 Roman RAMOS SPA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 156.5 +53.563
20 10 Thitipong WAROKORN THA APH PTT The Pizza SAG Kalex 155.4 +1’10.995
21 45 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA JPN Teluru Team JiR Webike TSR 155.4 +1’11.391
22 70 Robin MULHAUSER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 155.3 +1’11.811
23 5 Johann ZARCO FRA AirAsia Caterham Caterham Suter 152.9 +1’52.348
24 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 152.9 +1’52.446
25 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 149.1 1 Lap
30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 0 Lap
Not Classified
7 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA Gresini Moto2 Suter 158.3 1 Lap
77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 159.3 5 Laps
18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 158.1 5 Laps
23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Tech 3 Tech 3 157.8 9 Laps
49 Axel PONS SPA AGR Team Kalex 157.4 9 Laps
98 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 112.8 16 Laps
8 Gino REA GBR AGT REA Racing Suter 151.7 18 Laps
15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM Tasca Racing Moto2 Suter 0 Lap
2 Josh HERRIN USA AirAsia Caterham Caterham Suter 0 Lap

2014 Moto2 Point Standings after Round 1:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 25
2 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 20
3 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 16
4 Maverick VIÑALES Kalex SPA 13
5 Simone CORSI Forward KLX ITA 11
6 Sam LOWES Speed Up GBR 10
7 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 9
8 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 8
9 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 7
10 Louis ROSSI Kalex FRA 6
11 Jonas FOLGER Kalex GER 5
12 Ricard CARDUS Tech 3 SPA 4
14 Luis SALOM Kalex SPA 2
15 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex MAL 1