Fong to Pilot Triumph 675R in AMA Daytona SportBike

Bobby Fong near his Triumph 675R
Bobby Fong near his Triumph 675R
Bobby Fong near his Triumph 675R

2014 AMA Daytona SportBike

Bobby Fong will pilot the Latus Motors/Castrol/Triumph Daytona 675R for the 2014 AMA Pro Road Racing Daytona SportBike season.

Fong, of Stockton, California, completed the 2013 season with a podium finish aboard a Triumph Daytona 675R at New Jersey Motorsports Park. He’s looking for a lot more this year.

“The Latus Motors team has been working hard all winter to get the bike ready for this season and I’m ready to show everyone what it can do,” said Bobby Fong. “I want to be on the box every weekend. Regardless of what happens each race, we’re going to stay positive and keep moving forward toward the championship.”

Team owner George Latus will once again field one of the stoutest teams in an already loaded Daytona SportBike paddock.

“The field in Daytona SportBike is loaded with talented riders and teams and I think we’ve put together a very good group for our team this year,” said George Latus. “We’ve watched Bobby for a number of years and last year I saw a new level of riding from him. He’s confident and has a fierce desire to win races and the championship.”

Robert Ward, who has worked with Fong on his bike set-up and race strategy for several years, also joins the Latus Team to help extract every ounce of performance from their Daytona 675R.

“We can’t wait to get to Daytona and see what this bike, crew and I are capable of,” said Fong.

The Latus Motors Road Racing team is sponsored by Castrol, Triumph, GE Capital, FreedomRoad Financial and Lucky Brand, Apex Manuacturing, Sportbike Track Time and RM Management as well as Bickle, Catalyst Composites, Cortech, Cox, Dunlop, DynoJet, ET, Galfer, Hindle, Sunoco, Superlite and Zero Gravity.

Latus Motors also fields a Castrol/Triumph AMA Pro Flat Track team with up-and-coming sensation Shayna Texter, the first female to win an AMA Pro Singles main event, and Joe Kopp, a former AMA Grand National Champion who is 13th on the all-time Grand National win list.