Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road KTM's Ramirez Wins Debut AMA Hare & Hound; Honors Caselli

KTM’s Ramirez Wins Debut AMA Hare & Hound; Honors Caselli

KTM's Ivan Ramirez
KTM’s Ivan Ramirez

2014 AMA Hare & Hound Round 1 Lucerne Valley Results

It was an emotional start for Factory FMF/KTM pilot Ivan Ramirez during the season opener of the 10-round 2014 AMA National Hare & Hound series.

Ramirez simply dominated the round in the Lucerne Valley desert, taking his first-career AMA National Hare & Hound win. But it wasn’t so much the win that affected him emotionally; rather, it was that he dedicated the win to his longtime friend and mentor, the late Kurt Caselli.

Family members of the late Kurt Caselli
Family members of the late Kurt Caselli

Speaking before fans and members of Caselli’s family, Ivan Ramirez says: “I have been working extremely hard and want to win as many races as I can for my teammate Kurt. He helped me so much in my career and believed in me and I am so proud to stand up here for him. I know he was with me today.”

Ramirez began the race quickly, grabbing the holeshot and having three-bike lengths on the field by the end of the long bomb run. At the first gas stop, he was already a full minute ahead of the pack.

He retained his rhythm, and continued to navigate the rocky and technical course quicker than the others. By the races end, he would win three minutes ahead of Beta’s Justin Morrow and Beta’s Nicholas Burson.

Antti Kallonen (Factory FMF/KTM Team Manager) says: “Ramirez looks very comfortable on the new bike. We switched to the new SOHC motor this year after months of testing with the new engine last season. The 450 XC-F is a great bike for this series and we plan to run this chassis and motor set-up for the remainder of the rounds.”

The 2014 AMA Hare & Hound series continues Feb. 8-9 in Red Mountain, Calif.

2014 AMA National Hare & Hound Series Overall Round 1 Results:

  1. Ivan Ramirez – KTM
  2. Justin Morrow – Beta
  3. Nick Burnson – Beta
  4. Axel Pearson – Beta
  5. Ricky Brabec – Kawasaki
  6. Morgan Crawford – KTM
  7. Skyler Howes – KTM
  8. Ryan Smith – Yamaha
  9. Brad Pace – Honda
  10. Brandon Prieto – KTM

AMA National Hare & Hound Round 1 Podium
AMA National Hare & Hound Round 1 Podium

Emula Concept First Look: With 2electron McFly Technology

One of the prime complaints many motorcyclists have about electric motorcycles is that they don’t deliver the visceral experience that comes from an internal...

2020 Yamaha Power Assist Bicycles Review: Two Electric Choices

While not a motorcycle, as we interpret it, a pedal-assisted electric bicycle just might be a gateway product to owning a motorcycle. With that...

Editor’s Choice: Al Phillips Collection at Mecum Indy 2020 Auction

Noted motorcycle collector Al Phillips will be selling 25 motorcycles from his collection at the Mecum Indy 2020 auction at the Indiana State Fairgrounds....

2020 Kawasaki Concours 14 ABS Buyers Guide: Specs & Price

Based on the dragstrip-scorching Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14R, the 2020 Kawasaki Concours 14 ABS is a civilized coast-to-coast sport-touring motorcycle that does not lack for...

2021 AIMExpo Dates Set: Now A Trade-Only Show

The Motorcycle Industry Council is making two big changes to its American International Motorcycle Expo (AIMExpo). First, the date for the show, which the...

Suffragists Centennial Motorcycle Ride Starts July 31, 2021

Women’s Motorcycle Tours’ Suffragists Centennial Motorcycle Ride is set to start in Portland on July 31, 2021, and run through August 20 in Washington, DC....