Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road Bykerk Wins Ontario Women's EnduroCross

Bykerk Wins Ontario Women’s EnduroCross

Bykerk Takes The Women’s Win Ontario EnduroCross

KTM’s Chantelle Bykerk, already leading the Women’s class of the AMA Geico Powersports EnduroCross series, hit the top step of the podium Saturday night after a bruising race around the challenging obstacles at the Citizens Business Bank Arena in Ontario, Calif.

Over half the field went down in the rock garden following the first turn, and this section continued to play havoc with the riders all race. Multiple X Games Women’s EnduroCross winner Tara Geiger and last year’s Women’s EnduroCross runner up Louise Forsley got caught up in the initial pile up.

Geiger managed to rebound to fifth place by the end of the first lap, but was unable to improve her position by the end of the race. Both KTM riders had a disappointing night, with Forsley finishing ninth in the 12-bike field. Motocross ace Sarah Whitmore finished well off the podium in sixth.

Bykerk, riding out of Salmon Arm, British Columbia, led from the first turn, though briefly lost the lead to Gas Gas’s Melissa Harten (a fellow Canadian) early after a mishap in the tunnel. When Harten’s chain came off, Bykerk regained the front position and held it until the checkers.

Coming into the Ontario round second in points, Rachel Gutish also went down with her Yamaha in the opening pile-up, leaving her playing catch up for most of the race. Morgan Tanke of nearby Riverside spent much of the race behind Bykerk, threatening for the lead at one point. However, a mistake on the last lap, allowed Gutish to pass Tanke for second position, though Tanke remounted her KTM to take the final podium spot. Gutish will be representing the United States in the 2013 International Six Days Enduro.

Results, 2013 Ontario EnduroCross, Women’s Class

1. Chantelle Bykerk – KTM – #3

2. Rachel Gutish – Yamaha – #217

3. Morgan Tanke – KTM – #31

4. Kendall Reed – KTM – #27z

5. Tara Geiger – KTM – #68

6. Sarah Whitmore – KTM – #89

7. Jolene Van Zugt – Suzuki – #63

8. Tatum Sik – Honda – #972

9. Louise Forsley – KTM – #2

10. Melissa Harten- Gas Gas – #11

11. Rily Ellinger – KTM – #621

12. Megan Blackburn – Kawasaki – #426

Photos by Don Williams

Kelly Callan
Kelly Callan
Kelly is an avid two-wheel commuter, enjoying the frenetic energy of Southern California’s freeways on the wide variety of test bikes passing through the UM garage. Partial to singles, she’s equally appreciative of twins, triples, and fours, and enjoys sporting canyon rides or off-road riding on weekends.

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....

Harley-Davidson IRONe12 Review (14 Fast Facts)

Electric bicycles are growing in popularity across a broad spectrum of people and a wide array of uses. This is a story about one...