Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2013 Spring Creek National | AMA Motocross Preview

2013 Spring Creek National | AMA Motocross Preview

2013 Spring Creek Motocross

For the first eight rounds of the 2013 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, the most intense battles have occurred between Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto and Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

Villopoto had constantly come out on top, though, the reigning AMA Supercross Champion winning 12 of 16 motos, compared to Dungey’s three moto wins. Villopoto’s latest feat arrived at Washougal last weekend in Villopoto’s home state of Washington.

But due to his solid podium finishes, the reigning AMA Motocross Champion Dungey is in a close second, 42 points behind Villopoto with four rounds remaining.

This weekend’s Motocross event heads to Dungey’s home state of Minnesota for the Red Bull Spring Creek National in Millville, Minn. And Dungey has luck there; he hasn’t lost a Motocross round there in the past five years (450 and 250 classes).

As Dungey and Villopoto fight up top, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart arrives in Minnesota following two consecutive podium finishes. This allowed Stewart to bump into fourth in the points, behind the man in third – Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia.

Stewart is a four-time winner at Spring Creek, with his most recent win coming in 2008 in the 450 Class, following a three-race winning streak in the 250 Class from 2002-04. Stewart has yet to claim an overall win in the 450 Class this season but the Florida native looks to carry his previous momentum onto the center of the podium in the sandy hills of Spring Creek.

The 250 Class continues to produce exceptional competition this season as GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac brought the championship battle to within one point of Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen after a 1-1 sweep last round.

Through eight rounds, Tomac holds the most victories of the season with three, surpassing Roczen’s two overall wins. As the 2012 250 Class winner at Spring Creek, Tomac will look for his second consecutive win this Saturday in Minnesota.

Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin returned to the podium last round with a third place finish at Washougal. Musquin joins Roczen and Tomac this season in earning multiple victories in the 250 Class, as the Frenchmen holds two overall wins thus far. And then there’s Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett, who sits fourth overall in the championship standings with one victory to date.

Last round, Baggett was in the running to capture a second place finish in Moto 1 but a mechanical issue ultimately kept the defending 250 Class Champion from earning any points in the moto. Baggett will attempt to secure his first ever win at Spring Creek amongst an ultra-competitive 250 Class lineup.

Spring Creek has been a staple of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship since hosting its first National back in 1983. Since then, it has become an anticipated stop on the schedule thanks to its challenging layout that features a healthy assortment of obstacles, as well as multiple dramatic elevation changes. Millville is home to three of the sport’s most iconic features, including the longest start in Lucas Oil Pro Motocross, the “Holy Schmit” jump – named for late local legend Donny Schmit – and the infamous sand whoops that are often the site of where a race is won or lost.

2013 Spring Creek AMA Motocross TV Schedule

The Red Bull Spring Creek National will feature live broadcast coverage on Saturday, beginning at 1 p.m. EDT with the 450 and 250 Class opening motos on FUEL TV. Moto 2 of the 450 Class will air live on NBC at 3 p.m., followed by Moto 2 of the 250 Class live on NBC Sports Network at 4 p.m. Additionally, all four motos can be seen live on

2013 AMA Motocross 450 Class Championship Standings:

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 380

2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 338

3. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 271

4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 224

5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 219

6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 170

7. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM, 164

8. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki, 160

9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 159

10. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 158

2013 AMA Motocross 250 Class Championship Standings:

1. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 356

2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 355

3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 298

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 260

5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda, 239

6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 202

7. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 178

8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 177

9. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 171

10. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 159

Helmet Use by U.S. Motorcyclists Trends Higher in Past Decade

Could the availability of better helmet options be part of the reason? According to the U. S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration...

Editor’s Letter: A Very Merry Christmas When I Became An ‘Authentic Motorcyclist’

At the end, my parents handed me a small package. I opened it up, and it was a little booklet. It had pictures of a motorcycle.

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...