Mugello Moto2: Redding Earns Pole ahead of Nakagami

Scott Redding at Mugello Moto2 Qualifying
Scott Redding at Mugello Moto2 Qualifying
Scott Redding at Mugello Moto2 Qualifying

2013 Mugello Moto2 Qualifying Results

Moto2 championship leader Scott Redding will start on pole position for the Gran Premio d’Italia TIM at Mugello.

The Marc VDS Racing Team rider will share Sunday’s front row with Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami and Desguaces La Torre SAG’s Marcel Schrotter, who achieved a career-best qualifying result.

Englishman Redding sealed the top spot – and his second pole, after Texas – with a best effort of 1:52.958, edging out Japan’s Nakagami, who maintains his 100-percent front row record for 2013.

The German Schrotter was highly pleased with third position, having first contested a World Championship race in the 125cc class in 2008.

Row 2 will be made up of Johann Zarco, Nico Terol and Esteve Rabat for Came IodaRacing Project, Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 and Tuenti HP 40 respectively, but there was much frustration for Rabat’s teammate Pol Espargaro who had topped final practice but at the end of qualifying was bumped right down to 10th place.

Desguaces La Torre Maptaq’s Xavier Simeon lines up behind Rabat in seventh, ahead of NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis in eighth, and Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2’s Jordi Torres in ninth. There was a double fall during this session for Mattia Pasini and Louis Rossi, leaving the NGM Mobile Racing and Tech 3 riders 19th and 24th quickest.

2013 Mugello Moto2 Qualifying Results:

145Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex277.11’52.958
230Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex285.21’53.1230.165 / 0.165
323Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGKalex280.41’53.2210.263 / 0.098
45Johann ZARCOFRACame Iodaracing ProjectSuter278.41’53.2780.320 / 0.057
518Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter286.31’53.3680.410 / 0.090
680Esteve RABATSPATuenti HP 40Kalex279.01’53.3830.425 / 0.015
719Xavier SIMEONBELDesguaces La Torre MaptaqKalex278.61’53.4590.501 / 0.076
815Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up284.71’53.4660.508 / 0.007
981Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter273.41’53.6110.653 / 0.145
1040Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti HP 40Kalex284.51’53.6780.720 / 0.067
113Simone CORSIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up279.51’53.7080.750 / 0.030
1212Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2 RacingSuter280.51’53.8850.927 / 0.177
1336Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex284.61’53.9100.952 / 0.025
1477Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter280.91’53.9621.004 / 0.052
1511Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex280.31’53.9711.013 / 0.009
164Randy KRUMMENACHERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter285.31’54.0191.061 / 0.048
1760Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex280.21’54.1521.194 / 0.133
1849Axel PONSSPATuenti HP 40Kalex282.21’54.2321.274 / 0.080
1954Mattia PASINIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up284.21’54.3951.437 / 0.163
2063Mike DI MEGLIOFRAJiR Moto2Motobi280.91’54.3991.441 / 0.004
2124Toni ELIASSPABlusens AvintiaKalex277.21’54.6211.663 / 0.222
2214Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter279.11’54.6301.672 / 0.009
2395Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up271.91’54.7211.763 / 0.091
2496Louis ROSSIFRATech 3Tech 3284.81’54.8651.907 / 0.144
2588Ricard CARDUSSPANGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up286.01’54.9221.964 / 0.057
2652Danny KENTGBRTech 3Tech 3279.21’55.0502.092 / 0.128
277Doni Tata PRADITAINAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter282.41’55.4162.458 / 0.366
2872Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaMoriwaki273.51’55.4542.496 / 0.038
2944Steven ODENDAALRSAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up279.71’55.4962.538 / 0.042
3017Alberto MONCAYOSPAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up281.81’55.6772.719 / 0.181
319Kyle SMITHGBRBlusens AvintiaKalex278.91’55.9212.963 / 0.244
3297Rafid Topan SUCIPTOINAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up274.11’57.0554.097 / 1.134