Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT Isle of Man TT: Reeves & Sayle Win Sure Sidecar Race 1

Isle of Man TT: Reeves & Sayle Win Sure Sidecar Race 1

2013 Isle of Man TT Sure Sidecar Race 1 Results

Tim Reeves and Dan Sayle won the opening race of the 2013 Isle of Man TT Races, powered by Monster Energy, the duo taking victory in the 3-lap Sure Sidecar race by almost 20 seconds from Conrad Harrison/Mike Aylott and Dave Molyneux/Patrick Farrance.

For quadruple World Champion Reeves it was his first TT victory, five years after making his debut, whilst Sayle became the joint most successful passenger in history, joining Rick Long on eight wins.

With ideal conditions all around the Mountain Course, it was Ben and Tom Birchall who grabbed the early initiative, leading at Glen Helen on the opening lap by 1.3s from Reeves/Sayle while pre-race favorites Molyneux/Farrance found themselves back in fifth although just 5 seconds covered the leading five outfits.

By Ramsey, the Birchall’s had put in two superb sectors to extend their lead over Reeves/Sayle to 5.48s but coming down the Mountain they clipped the bank at Kate’s Cottage and suffered a puncture, pulling in to retire at Creg ny Baa.

That all meant that Reeves/Sayle led at the end of the first lap with a speed of 113.575mph, their gap over new second-placed crew Molyneux/Farrance almost ten seconds. Harrison/Aylott were less than two seconds behind in third with John Holden/Andy Winkle, Dougie Wright/Martin Hull and Gary Bryan/Jamie Winn completing the top six.

On the second circuit, Reeves/Sayle continued to extend their advantage as they closed in on Molyneux/Farrance on the road, latching on to their rivals as they made the Mountain climb once more. Indeed, the second lap was Reeves’ best ever around the 37 and ¾-mile course and with a speed of 114.608mph, they were now leading on the road and over 20s clear of Molyneux/Farrance.

On the final lap, Reeves/Sayle had the race wrapped up, save for mechanical misfortune, and all eyes fell on the battle for second with nothing between Molyneux/Farrance and Harrison/Aylott. The gap was less than five seconds at Glen Helen but from there the Bradford driver continued to reduce the deficit and it was clear it was going to come down to a Grandstand finish.

Reeves/Sayle duly crossed the line just ahead of Molyneux/Farrance on the road but Harrison/Aylott grabbed second, to equal their best ever result, by the miniscule margin of 0.538 of a second! Reeves/Farrance became the first reigning world champions to win a TT Race since Jock Taylor won held both in 1981.

Holden/Winkle were secure in fourth for the majority of the race whilst Wright/Hull also equaled their best ever result of fifth having caught Bryan/Winn on the road on the first lap.

Gary Knight and Dan Knight had a superb drive into seventh, recording their first ever 110mph+ lap, with local pairing Karl Bennett/Lee Cain, Roy Hanks/Kevin Perry and Frank Lelias/Charlie Richardson rounding out the top ten.

Meanwhile, history was made when Estelle Leblond became the first ever female sidecar driver to break the 100mph barrier, the French lady recording two laps in three figures, the best of which was 100.908mph. Together with passenger Sebastien Lavorel, they finished in 29th place.

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...