Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road KTM's Kailub Russell Wins Round 3 of OMA Nationals

KTM’s Kailub Russell Wins Round 3 of OMA Nationals

FMF/KTM's Kailub Russell
FMF/KTM’s Kailub Russell

2013 OMA Nationals

When the OMA Nationals got underway this past February in Tuscumbia, Ala., the battle between Factory FMF/KTM’s Kailub Russell and Factory Husaberg’s Russell Bobbitt came down to the wire.

But Bobbitt would take the win, just as he did at round two in April at Dawson Creek in Kentucky.

Things changed at round three of the series this past weekend in Bedford, Indiana. Bobbitt would have to settle for third, finishing behind Yamaha’s Paul Whibley and the winner, Russell.

It was a tough win for Russell, who was dead last heading into the first corner. But as the race became more technical, Russell jumped to the front, eventually settling into second place after a hill climb section.

Kailub Russell (Factory FMF/KTM) says: “In one way, I guess I was lucky I was in last place as we got to the hillside because I could see where everyone had crashed. I was then able to take a better line up the hill which allowed me to move up to second position by the top of the hill.”

“Once there were some good lines in the course it became easier to not make mistakes and those of us in the top three were able to pull away.”

Near the halfway point then-leader Whibley stopped for fuel, giving Russell the lead. He would go on to win the race by over 40 seconds ahead of Whibley, with Bobbitt taking third.

The next round of the 2013 OMA Nationals will occur May 26 in Fort Smith, Ark.

2013 Indian OMA Nationals, Round 3 Results:

  1. Kailub Russell – KTM
  2. Paul Whibley – Yamaha
  3. Russell Bobbitt – Husaberg
  4. Jordan Ashburn – Yamaha
  5. Nick Fahringer – Husaberg

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...