2013 Daytona Supercross | Results

KTM's Ryan Dungey

2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Daytona Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results from Daytona listed below

As part of the kick off of Daytona 200 Week at Daytona International Speedway, Monster Energy AMA Supercross got underway Saturday night on the Ricky Carmichael designed track.

And the winner of the 450 SX class? Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto. The reigning AMA SX Champion took a convincing victory by over five seconds ahead of Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, with Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia taking third.

This was Villopoto’s fifth win this season, and his third at Daytona. Villopoto now joins Bob Hannah, Mike Kiedrowski, Jeremy McGrath and Chad Reed as three-time Daytona Supercross By Honda champions. Ricky Carmichael owns a record five Daytona Supercross By Honda triumphs followed by Jeff Stanton with four wins, Daytona International Speedway reports.

Plus, for the first time in the 2013 AMA Supercross Championship, someone other than Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps has the points lead.

With his win, Villopoto now has 202 points, two ahead of Millsaps, who crashed at Daytona, eventually finishing 10th.

Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki KX-F450 Supercross) says: “Daytona is a unique place to race. To win it is pretty awesome. It’s not like any other racing. If you can get a win here, it shows you are definitely one of the best. Sometimes it doesn’t go as planned but I’ll take it. It feels really good.”

Although he has the points lead after 10 of 17 rounds, much can change.

Ryan Villopoto says.“It’s not much but it’s at least leading,” Villopoto said. “There’s still a lot of racing left and we have to keep focused and keep pushing forward.”

Taking fourth was GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac, who was followed by TwoTwo Motorsports Honda’s Chad Reed. As for Red Bull KTM rider Ken Roczen, the German made an appearance Saturday in the 450 class, finishing seventh.

Red Bull KTM’s earned the 250 SX class win, The Frenchman was simply dominate, leading all 15 lap. He eventually took the win by over 8 seconds ahead of GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn and Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin. It was Musquin’s first 250-SX win.

Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM SX-F 250) says: “I just stayed really calm and tried to have fun. I was pulling away from them every lap and I was having so much fun playing with the track. I don’t want to say it was easy but I had so much fun.”

The 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series now heads to Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, for round 11 of 17.

2013 Daytona by Honda 450 Supercross Results:
1. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2. Ryan Dungey, KTM
3. Justin Barcia, Honda
4. Eli Tomac, Honda
5. Chad Reed, Honda
6. Trey Canard, Honda
7. Ken Roczen, KTM
8. James Stewart, Suzuki
9. Broc Tickle, Suzuki
10. Davi Millsaps, Suzuki

2013 Monster Energy 450 Supercross Championship Points (after 10 of 18 rounds):
1. Ryan Villopoto, 202
2. Davi Millsaps, 200
3. Ryan Dungey, 188
4. Trey Canard, 163
5. Chad Reed, 163
6. Justin Barcia, 152
7. James Stewart, 135
8. Andrew Short, 122
9. Justin Brayton, 104
10. Broc Tickle, 99

2013 Daytona by Honda 250 Supercross East Results:
1. Marvin Musquin, KTM
2. Wil Hahn, Honda
3. Jeremy Martin, Yamaha
4. Dean Wilson, Kawasaki
5. Blake Wharton, Suzuki
6. Justin Hill, Kawasaki
7. Kyle Peters, Honda
8. Zack Freeberg, Honda
9. Cole Thompson, Honda
10. Vince Friese, Honda

2013 Monster Energy 250 Supercross East Championship Points:
1. Wil Hahn, 92
2. Dean Wilson, 87
3. Marvin Musquin, 78
4. Blake Wharton, 76
5. Jeremy Martin, 52
6. Justin Hill, 51
7. Vince Friese, 50
8. Kyle Peters, 45
9. James Decotis, 43
10. Gavin Faith, 40


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.