KTM’s Mullins Wins Greensboro AMA National Enduro

KTM's Mullins Wins Greensboro AMA National Enduro2013 AMA National Enduro Series Round 1 Results

Factory FMF/KTM rider Charlie Mullins took the win at the opening round of the AMA National Enduro Series in Greensboro, Ga., aboard his new KTM 350 XC-F.

Mullins made the switch to the four-stroke for the start of the National Enduro Series and it proved to be a great move for the former National Enduro Champion. He started the day off well winning the first two special tests in a dominating fashion.

His big margin wins in the first two tests helped him set the pace for the remainder of the day that would eventually lead to his first victory of the season.

Never outside of the top three, Mullins finished 2nd in the third and fourth tests and then finished 3rd in the final two tests. He caught his brake pedal on a large tree root early in the fifth test which caused him to lose his rear brakes mid-way through that test. Luckily, he was still able to maintain a decent pace and finish that test inside the top three to avoid losing a large amount of time to the rest of the pack.

At the end of the six special tests, Mullins walked away with the win by a 39 second margin. “I had some bad luck last season and I am really looking to turn things around this year,” remarked Mullins. “I have been working really hard during the off season and it is great to be back racing and finally 100% healthy.”

Mullins teammate, reigning National Enduro Champion, Steward Baylor, is still recovering from a wrist injury sustained during last year’s race competition. The first round marked his first time back on the bike in 14 weeks.

Baylor attempted to ride the first three tests but struggled with his wrist and decided to pull off in order to avoid a possible crash that could injury him further. He will undergo one final surgery on his wrist and then make a comeback to the series once he is completely healed.

Next Event: March 3, 2013 – Salley, SC

Greensboro AMA National Enduro Overall Results (Round 1):

  1. Charlie Mullins – KTM
  2. Nick Fahringer – Husqvarna
  3. Russell Bobbitt – Husqvarna
  4. Brad Bakken – Yamaha
  5. Mike Lafferty – Husqvarna
  6. Jesse Groemm -Yamaha
  7. Andrew Delong – Husqvarna
  8. Grant Baylor – KTM
  9. Shane Hufford – KTM
  10. Thad Duvall – Honda