Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2013 Dakar Results | USA's Caselli (KTM) Wins Stage 7

2013 Dakar Results | USA’s Caselli (KTM) Wins Stage 7

USA’s Kurt Caselli took his first-ever stage win Friday during his first-ever Dakar Rally.

2013 Dakar Stage 7 Results

The man who has replaced the injured Marc Coma on the Red Bull KTM 450 Rally – America’s Kurt Caselli – took his first-ever stage win Friday during the 2013 Dakar Rally.

Caselli, who is also competing in his first-ever Dakar Rally, was the first rookie to win a bike stage since Ruben Faria in 2006. Caselli completed the 220-kilometer special in one hour, 51 minutes and 31 seconds.

The Californian Caselli was joined on the stage-seven podium by Chaleco Lopez (KTM) and Olivier Pain (Yamaha). The Frenchman Pain continues to lead the overall Dakar by over six minutes ahead of Lopez.

The fast timed special at high altitude allowed Caselli to exercise his speed and skills, recently sharpened with a second place for the KTM US team in the Baja 1000. Caselli averaged a speed of 117 kmh for the 218 km of the timed special and became the first newcomer to win a stage since factory teammate Ruben Faria did it in 2006 at the start of the Dakar Rally in Portugal.

Kurt Caselli (KTM 450 Rally) says: “Everything for me was fine. I’m learning the navigation better and I can understand it. This is my first Dakar so I’m just learning a lot. I didn’t have any idea what to expect when I first came here. It’s fun and I’m enjoying it.”

On a day when riders first made the heady ascent up to the highest mountain pass in the Andes during the long liaison of 586 km, five top KTM riders finished in the fastest ten at the finish in Salta (Argentina) but the KTM factory team’s lead rider Cyril Despres was not among them.

The French rider had some technical difficulties with the bike that hampered his speed in what should have been a very fast special and the time he sacrificed has dropped him down to fifth place in the overall standings. He now trails leader Olivier Pain by just over 14 minutes. Stage Seven and tomorrow’s Stage Eight are ‘Marathon’ stage in which riders must rely on their own mechanical knowledge in the event of problems. They overnight in a bivouac without the rest of the support team.

While it was an unlucky day for Despres, the other KTM riders who were well up the order including Chile’s ‘Chaleco’ Lopez who finished 1 minute 23 behind Caselli. The two official KTM Factory Team support riders Ruben Faria of Portugal and Joan Pedrero of Spain finished fifth and sixth. KTM Factory B team rider ‘Kuba’ Przygonski of Poland was seventh while his teammates South Africa’s Riaan Van Niekerk and Darryl Curtis were twelfth and twenty second respectively. Despres was eventually classified at thirty-fourth and now has the task of fighting his way back into the lead.

With just one stage left before the one rest day on Sunday French rider Olivier Pain leads the overall standings, followed by Lopez, David Casteu, Faria and Despres. On their last push before the rest day, riders go from Salta to San Miguel de Tucuman in Argentina on what is the longest stage in the 2013 edition. They must travel 247 km in the liaison section before a massive 491 km of timed special.

The seventh stage of the 2013 edition was marred by the death of a French rider Thomas Bourgin who was the victim of a fatal accident during the liaison section prior to the day’s special. Organizers said he was involved in a collision with a police car but no other details were announced. Bourgin was racing his first Dakar. KTM expresses sympathy to the family and friends of this rider.

2013 Dakar Rally Stage Seven Results (Marathon stage (no mechanical support) from Calama to Salta (Argentina) total distance 806 km – liaison of 586 km and 202 km of timed special):

1. Kurt Caselli, USA, KTM one hour 51.31

2. Chaleco Lopez, Chile, KTM 1:52.54

3. Olivier Pain, France, Yamaha, 1:52.54

4. Frans Verhoeven, Netherlands, Yamaha, 1:53.01

5. Ruben Faria, Portugal KTM 1.54.01

6. Joan Pedrero, Spain, KTM, 1:54.13

7. Jakub Przygonski, Poland, KTM 1:54.22

34. Cyril Despres, France, KTM 2:04.39 (at 13 minutes 08)

2013 Dakar Rally Overall Standings after Stage Seven:

1. Pain, 17:28.17

2. Lopez, 17:34.23

3. Casteu, 17:34.54

4. Faria 17:37.59

5. Despres, KTM, 17:42.24 (at 14.07)

6. Przygonski, KTM, 17:49.00

7. Svitko, KTM, 17:53.08

8. Caselli 17:56.03

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...