2012 Motegi Moto3 | Results

2012-motegi-moto3-results2012 Japanese Grand Prix Moto3 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto3 Championship results from Motegi listed below

At the AirAsia Grand Prix of Japan in Motegi, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Danny Kent took his maiden victory in an extremely dramatic Moto3 race ahead of Maverick Viñales and Alessandro Tonucci.

While Kent got away from the line best, it was RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom who got past to lead the first few corners. Technomag-CIP’s Alan Techer was given a ride through penalty because of a jump-start, as the leading group with Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger, Salom, Kent and AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin started to pull out a gap.

Meanwhile, Mahindra Racing’s Alessandro Moretti was forced to retire with a mechanical issue, while Racing Team Germany’s Toni Finsterbusch also had a problem with his bike on the home straight.

With 13 laps remaining the top four were being closed down by a pursuing group of three led by Team Italia FMI’s Alessandro Tonucci, with Cortese and Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales in tow.

Cortese, who had looked to be cruising, moved past his teammate Kent into third with six laps remaining, as Viñales also started to gather momentum. Three laps before the end Salom’s teammate Brad Binder was forced to retire, as the battle at the front truly commenced with the top six going fairing to fairing.

The last lap could not have been any more dramatic, as Salom pushed for the lead into turn one and took out leader Folger and himself.

With Cortese in the lead and Viñales in fourth, the title was set to be the German’s, however Kent and Tonucci pushed their way past Cortese, with the German touching Tonucci’s wheels and dropping his bike, lucky to escape injury as the Italian hit him. Cortese was able to remount, yet could only cross the line in sixth.

In the end it was Kent who came out best to take the chequered flag to record his first ever win, ahead of Viñales and Tonucci, who recorded his first ever podium. This now moves Viñales into second in the championship, 56 points behind Cortese.

Behind the trio in fourth was Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins, followed by Khairuddin, Cortese, Rins’ teammate Miguel Oliveira, Racing Team Germany’s Louis Rossi, JHK t-shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez and Tonucci’s teammate Romano Fenati.

Salom was subsequently penalised for the incident with Folger, with the Spaniard deemed as “riding in an irresponsible manner during the Moto3 race, causing danger to rider Jonas Folger, which is an infringement to the article 1.21.2 of the 2012 FIM Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix regulations”, meaning he has a five place grid penalty in Sepang next weekend. No appeal was lodged by his team.

2012 Motegi Moto3 Results:

1.2552Danny KENTGBRRed Bull KTM AjoKTM143.940’02.775
2.2025Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens AvintiaFTR Honda143.8+0.260
3.1619Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda143.7+2.352
4.1342Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda143.7+3.404
5.1163Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia-Sic-AjoKTM143.6+3.645
6.1011Sandro CORTESEGERRed Bull KTM AjoKTM143.1+13.394
7.944Miguel OLIVEIRAPOREstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda142.9+15.523
8.896Louis ROSSIFRARacing Team GermanyFTR Honda142.9+15.739
9.77Efren VAZQUEZSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda142.9+15.946
10.65Romano FENATIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda142.9+16.129
11.561Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM142.9+16.223
12.427Niccolò ANTONELLIITASan Carlo Gresini Moto3FTR Honda142.9+16.371
13.331Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingKTM142.2+28.368
14.212Alex MARQUEZSPAAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda142.2+28.375
15.184Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda142.2+28.509
16.81Hyuga WATANABEJPNProject U 7C HarcHonda142.0+31.071
17.26Adrian MARTINSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda141.5+40.292
18.51Kenta FUJIIJPNTechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda141.3+42.822
19.8Jack MILLERAUSCaretta TechnologyHonda141.3+42.896
20.89Alan TECHERFRATechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda141.1+47.451
21.17John McPHEEGBRCaretta TechnologyKRP Honda141.0+48.245
22.29Luca AMATOGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM141.0+48.359
23.32Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda141.0+48.439
24.28Josep RODRIGUEZSPAMoto FGRFGR Honda140.1+1’03.762
25.30Giulian PEDONESWIAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda139.8+1’10.290
26.99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra139.8+1’10.484
27.82Yuudai KAMEIJPN18 Garage Racing TeamHonda134.81 Lap
Not Classified
94Jonas FOLGERGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM143.91 Lap
39Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM143.91 Lap
23Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia JHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda141.11 Lap
41Brad BINDERRSARW Racing GPKalex KTM142.66 Laps
9Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERRacing Team GermanyHonda126.416 Laps
Not Starting
80Armando PONTONEITAIodaRacing ProjectIoda0 Lap
20Riccardo MORETTIITAMahindra RacingMahindra0 Lap