Motorcycle Racing News Homestead-Miami AMA SportBike | Race One Results

Homestead-Miami AMA SportBike | Race One Results


AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha pilot Cameron Beaubier won the Saturday AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race in decisive fashion over Martin Cardenas and Bobby Fong.

Beaubier has now won six out of the last eight races in the GoPro Daytona SportBike class after an early-season injury effectively ended his shot at the title as Cardenas (GEICO Suzuki) has taken charge of the championship.

Beaubier took pole for the race, but Cardenas earned the holeshot on the start. By lap four, the Californian had moved to the front and earned a gap he held for the rest of the race.

“I was pushing pretty hard at the beginning,” said Beaubier. “I had a soft tire that had started spinning up by the end. I tried to stay consistent and brought it home. The team gave me an awesome bike.”

“I led for two laps,” said Cardenas. “Cameron passed me and was a little stronger at the beginning of the race. I could see the board, and Bobby was behind me. At the end, I put my head adown and increased my rhythm. It was good to finish second.

Beaubier took the win by 1.633 seconds over Cardenas, who was threatened by Fong and Dane Westby (M4 Suzuki). Westby closed on his rivals and looked to be making a strong push, but he couldn’t get by so he took fourth.

Jake Gagne had an odd race. The RoadRace Factory/Red Bull pilot ran up front early, dropped back with an apparent machine issue, then returned to the action down in the pack. He made it back to fifth place and cut the race’s quick lap (1:26.066).

Jake Zemke was sixth on the DucShop Ducati, ahead of Tommy Aquino ( and Jason DiSalvo (Latus Motors Racing Triumph).

Austin DeHaven, coming off an injury, was ninth for

2012 Homestead-Miami AMA SportBike Race One Results:

Pos No. Rider(s) Team Bike Interval Gap Best Lap Points
1. 6 Cameron Beaubier Yamaha Extended Service, Graves, Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R6 23 Laps WINNER 1:26.113 0
2. 36 Martin Cardenas GEICO Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 1.633 1.633 1:26.225 0
3. 50 Bobby Fong Meen Motorsports Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 2.676 1.043 1:26.130 0
4. 5 Dane Westby M4 Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 6.304 3.628 1:26.249 0
5. 132 Jake Gagne Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 13.037 6.732 1:26.066 0
6. 98 Jake Zemke Ducshop Racing Ducati 848 19.715 6.678 1:26.882 0
7. 124 Tommy Aquino Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 19.860 0.144 1:26.884 0
8. 40 Jason DiSalvo Team Latus Motors Racing Triumph Daytona 675 20.208 0.348 1:26.578 0
9. 56 Austin Dehaven Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 38.857 18.648 1:27.712 0
10. 52 Joey Pascarella Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 39.298 0.441 1:27.527 0
11. 175 David Gaviria Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 39.557 0.259 1:27.627 0
12. 61 Michael Beck Team Beck Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 51.088 11.530 1:27.893 0
13. 57 Cory West Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 51.929 0.841 1:27.850 0
14. 29 Barrett Long Longevity Racing Ducati 848 56.182 4.252 1:28.070 0
15. 75 Huntley Nash LTD Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:07.744 11.561 1:28.277 0
16. 42 Kenny Riedmann Sturgess Cycle Triumph Triumph Daytona 675 22 Laps 1 Lap 1:29.770 0
17. 7 Fernando Amantini Team Amantini Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.220 0.220 1:28.851 0
18. 13 Melissa Paris MPH Racing Suzuki GSX-R600 16.982 16.762 1:30.380 0
19. 39 Nicollas Ferreira DMS Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 21 Laps 1 Lap 1:28.648 0
20. 95 JD Beach Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 8 Laps 13 Laps 1:26.843 0
21. 72 Bryce Prince Rotobox/Nexx Yamaha YZF-R6 1:21.929 1:21.929 1:29.040 0
22. 46 Shane Narbonne MOB Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 7 Laps 1 Lap 1:29.394 0
23. 38 Kris Turner Turner`s Cycle Racing Triumph Daytona 675 4 Laps 3 Laps 1:29.729 0
24. 20 Benny Solis Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 3 Laps 1 Lap 1:34.272 0

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...