2012 New Jersey AMA SportBike | Race 1 Results

2012 AMA Pro Road Racing

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA SportBike results from New Jersey Motorsports Park listed below

Cameron Beaubier won his fifth AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race on Saturday at New Jersey Motorsports Park, round 10 of 12, emerging victorious after a heated contest that saw five riders make it to the flag within just over two seconds of the winner.

The Y.E.S./Graves/Yamaha rider won by 0.022 over series points leader Martin Cardenas (GEICO Suzuki) and hard charging Dane Westby, who qualified 13th.

Beaubier made his moves just before the white flag lap, taking second from Westby, then positioning himself to pass Cardenas as the final lap began.

“I slotted into third the last few laps,” said Beaubier. “I saw what Westby and Cardenas were doing and I was able to make my moves. I was a little out of my rhythm and I would have liked to have made my moves earlier but there was no way I was getting away from these guys. I tried to conserve my tires and wait until the end.”

Cardenas was in it until the checkers. “I made two great starts and tried to get in a rhythm, but these guys were with me the whole time and we had a lot of passing,” said the Colombian. “It was clean racing. Cameron got me in the first corner and I came up a little short today.”

The Wolverine qualified 13th on his M4 Suzuki but was able to jet forward and lead before the halfway point. “We started way back but I wasn’t worried,” said Westby. “At the end, I saw there were just the three of us, which is what I wanted.”

Bobby Fong (Meen Motorsports) was fourth, just ahead of Tommy Hayden on the other Y.E.S./Graves/Yamaha. Jason DiSalvo ran strong on his Triumph, earning sixth after losing the lead group in the late stages.

Tommy Aquino (Kneedraggers.com Yamaha) was able to handily top the RoadRace Factory/Red Bull teammates Jake Gagne and J.D. Beach for seventh.

2012 New Jersey Motorsports Park AMA SportBike Results, Race 1:

PosNo.Rider(s)TeamBikeIntervalGapBest LapPoints
1.6Cameron BeaubierYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R623 LapsWINNER1:23.8840
2.36Martin CardenasGEICO SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R6000.0220.0221:24.0130
3.5Dane WestbyM4 SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R6000.4650.4421:23.9840
4.50Bobby FongMeen Motorsports RacingYamaha YZF-R61.9921.5271:24.1900
5.22Tommy HaydenYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R62.0130.0201:23.9210
6.40Jason DiSalvoTeam Latus Motors RacingTriumph Daytona 6759.6937.6801:24.7400
7.124Tommy AquinoKneedraggers.com/Triple Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R614.6634.9691:24.7920
8.132Jake GagneRoad Race Factory/Red BullYamaha YZF-R623.0198.3551:25.3620
9.95JD BeachRoad Race Factory/Red BullYamaha YZF-R623.0900.0711:25.1380
10.96Aaron GobertFull Tuck RacingYamaha YZF-R627.6994.6081:25.3430
11.61Michael BeckTeam Beck RacingYamaha YZF-R629.1981.4991:25.4590
12.175David GaviriaKneedraggers.com/Triple Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R632.4453.2461:25.6080
13.46Shane NarbonneMOB RacingYamaha YZF-R634.3981.9531:25.4830
14.75Huntley NashLTD RacingYamaha YZF-R643.6659.2671:26.2250
15.72Bryce PrinceRotobox/NexxYamaha YZF-R643.9410.2751:26.0050
16.52Joey PascarellaRiders Discount Vesrah SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R60047.5143.5721:26.2760
17.42Kenny RiedmannSturgess Cycle TriumphTriumph Daytona 6751:02.50914.9951:26.8330
18.86Ben YoungBYR/Fogi RacingYamaha YZF-R61:17.80215.2921:27.9150
19.63Jeff WrobelWrobel RacingYamaha YZF-R622 Laps1 Lap1:29.6300
20.966Daniel OrtegaConvergence Technologies RacingYamaha YZF-R63.6993.6991:29.9830
21.84Anthony FaniaKSW RacingYamaha YZF-R66.1862.4861:30.1520
22.13Melissa ParisMPH RacingSuzuki GSX-R60012.1605.9741:29.9010
23.11Michael MorganRIM RacingSuzuki GSX-R60018 Laps4 Laps1:27.8270
24.98Jake ZemkeDucshop RacingDucati 8486 Laps12 Laps1:25.1620
25.7Fernando AmantiniTeam AmantiniKawasaki ZX-6R3 Laps3 Laps1:27.8590
26.74Josh GalsterGearzy/Josh Galster RacingYamaha YZF-R60.1360.1361:27.3070
27.57Cory WestRiders Discount Vesrah SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R6002 Laps1 Lap1:25.4520
28.20Benny SolisKneedraggers.com/Triple Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R6DNSDNS-no times-0
29.78Reese WackerWacker Racing LLCSuzuki GSX-R600DNSDNS-no times-0