Team Icon Brammo: 1-2 at Miller TTXGP

TTXGP North American Championship

This Labor Day weekend was anything but tranquil for Team Icon Brammo. The team's newest addition, legendary superbike racer and former AMA champion, Eric Bostrom, took first place at the TTXGP North American Championship race at Utah's Miller Motorsports Park.

The team's defending 2011 champion, Steve Atlas, took second in the race as well as the TTXGP North American Championship 2012 title for leading the season in points.

Race fans were wowed by Bostrom's record lap of 1:38.4, which was quicker than all the 2012 superbikes tested at the track months earlier by CycleWorld magazine. This time was faster than all but one of the gasoline-powered bikes racing at the track this past weekend in the AHMRA race series.

With the points scored, Brammo finished the season with an Atlas win of the Rider's Championship, by Atlas, as well as the Team/Constructor's Championship, a difficult feat to achieve in any race series. This feat is made all the more impressive by a relatively rocky start to the season with two crashes at the opening round at Infineon Raceway resulting in a back injury to defending TTXGP champion Steve Atlas and a broken wrist for AMA Superbike stand-out Steve Rapp.

Brian Wismann (Team Icon Team Manager) says: "Team Icon Brammo are exceedingly happy with this storybook ending to a season that began as a nightmare with the double crashes at Infineon (Sonoma). This team deserves every bit of the satisfaction of a double-podium and consecutive national championship having put in an incredible effort to get the bikes working well for these two talented riders. We're just now hitting our stride and Daytona can't come fast enough!"

While this race marks the end of the North American TTXGP season, there is still the combined TTXGP and FIM ePower World Final in October, which will be held in the US for the first time at Daytona International Speedway. Brammo expects to see the toughest competition yet at this event, as all riders and teams will be vying for the title of "2012 World Champion."


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.