Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2012 Unadilla Motocross | Video Highlights

2012 Unadilla Motocross | Video Highlights


2012 AMA Motocross Video

Following a dominate run of winning eight consecutive rounds, Ryan Dungey secured the 2012 Lucas Oil Pro Motorcross Championship sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing two rounds early at Unadilla, N.Y.

This was Dungey’s first title aboard the Red Bull KTM, and also KTM’s first title in the 450 AMA MX class.

Dungey secured the title this past weekend following a sweep at Unadilla. Joining Dungey on the overall Unadilla podium was Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle (2-4) and Team Chaparral Honda’s Andrew Short (4-3).

During the first moto, Dungey got off the line in fifth while Team Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart battled with BTO Sports/Palmetto Suzuki’s Michael Byrne, eventually taking the lead on the second lap.

But Stewart would crash, giving back Byrne the lead, who also later crashed, forcing him out of the moto. This gave the lead to Tickle, who was trailed by Dungey by this time. With two laps remaining, Dungey took the lead and the eventual win. He was joined on the Moto 1 podium by Tickle and Honda’s Davi Millsaps, respectively.

In Moto 2, Dungey capitalized on a good start, slotting himself into third place early behind Short and Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX’s Davi Millsaps. Dungey wasted little time in moving forward, passing both of his competitors to move into the lead by the third lap. Once out front, Dungey never looked back and brought home his 22nd career premier class win, tying him with Ricky Johnson for third on the all-time wins list.

Dungey was joined on the Moto 2 podium by Alessi and Short, respectively.

In the 250 class, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin took his first overall win. Musquin was joined on the overall Unadilla podium by GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac and Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen, respectively.

Attached above are video highlights of Unadilla AMA Motocross, round 10 of 12.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...