Motorcycle Racing News Suzuka 8 Hours: Yosh Suzuki Tops Friday

Suzuka 8 Hours: Yosh Suzuki Tops Friday

2012-suzuka-8-hours-yosh-suzuki-tops-friday (1)

2012 Suzuka 8 Hours

Out of sixty teams lining up for the 35th anniversary of the Suzuka 8 Hours, the Yoshimura Suzuki team placed their GSX-R 1000 on the provisional pole for Sunday’s race.

The team, consisting of the Australian Josh Waters, World Superbike Aprilia’s Leon Camier, and Nobuatsu Aoki, was able to pull off a sub 2.8-minute lap Friday with Waters at the controls.

Waters knocked more than a second of his earlier session best at round three of five in the World Endurance Championship with a time of 2:07.704. The Yoshimura Suzuki team, which finished second at last year’s race, were stalked closely by the FCC TSR Honda team of Honda World Superbike’s Jonathan Rea, Kosuka Akiyoshi and Tadayuki Okada.

The FCC TSR Team, which won last year’s Suzuka 8 Hours, posted a 2:08.169. Taking the provisional third spot on the grid was the Monster Yamaha YART team of Japanese riders Katsuyuki Nakasuga and Noriyuki Haga and Britain’s Tommy Hill.

Reigning World Champions SERT is fourth on the World Endurance Championship-leading GSX-R1000, thanks to a 2’08.429 lap set by Yukio Kagayama and they are only a few-hundredths-of-a-second behind second-placed FCC TSR Honda and third-placed Monster Yamaha YART.

The top-10 teams have one further free practice session tomorrow morning before the exciting Top-10 Shootout Finale to determine the starting positions for Sunday’s race.

2012 Suzuka 8-Hour Friday Qualifying Results:

1. Yoshimura Suzuki (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 2’07.704

2. FCC TSR Honda (Honda) 2’08.169

3. Monster Yamaha YART (Yamaha) 2’08.352

4. SERT (GSX-R1000) 2’08.429

5. MuSASHI RT-Harc Pro (Honda) 2’08.680

6. EVA RT Test Type (Kawasaki) 2’08.806

7. Teluru EMOBILE (Honda) 2’08.901

8. Honda Dream RT (Honda) 2’09.278

9. TOHO Racing (Honda) 2’09.318

10. Honda Team Asia (Honda) 2’09.433.

Photo courtesy of Goichi Honda

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Challenger Lineup First Look: Photos, Prices, and Colors

The performance-oriented Challenger bagger lineup from Indian returns for 2021, with three models to choose from. All three 2021 Indian Challenger models get the...

2021 GasGas Motocross Lineup First Look (Specs and Photos)

When under Spanish ownership, GasGas was never known as a motocross brand. However, under the guidance of Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto—the owners...

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...