News 2012 Mugello Moto3 | Results

2012 Mugello Moto3 | Results

2012-mugello-moto3-results (1)

2012 Moto3 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto3 Championship results from Mugello, Italy, listed below

At this weekend’s Gran Premio d’Italia TIM at Mugello it was Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales who recorded a narrow victory in the Moto3 race ahead of local favourite Romano Fenati and Sandro Cortese.

There was drama early on as Racing Team Germany’s Louis Rossi crashed out on lap two, almost taking out Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Danny Kent. Team Italia FMI’s Fenati started to charge up the field three laps in, taking the lead in front of Red Bull KTM’s Sandro Cortese. While the racing was keeping the crowd entertained, further down the group Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Alberto Moncayo and RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom crashed out of the race, putting an end to their charge.

Shortly after, Cortese’s teammate Arthur Sissis retired from the race with a mechanical issue, while on the same lap, Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Miguel Oliveira suffered a crash as he was chasing the leading group. IodaRacing Project’s Jonas Folger suffered further misery to his season, as he had to pit with a bike problem on lap 13. Two laps later, Moto FGR’s Jasper Iwema pulled into the pits with a mechanical issue, ending his race prematurely.

A group of seven riders had formed at the front with nine laps remaining, with all riders switching positions frequently as the win and final podium positions were being hotly contested. A lap later Viñales made his way into the lead and tried to pull out a gap to the front, with Cortese and Oliveira’s teammate Alex Rins doing their best to stick with him. Fenati however put the hammer down and joined Viñales and Cortese at the front, as a battle for the top three spots ensued. The trio stuck together and were nearly wheel-to-wheel heading into the last lap with Fenati in the lead, yet it was Viñales who led as they entered the final home straight.

In the end it was the Spaniard who won the drag to the line to take the chequered flag by a mere two hundredths of a second, with Fenati and Cortese completing the podium. Cortese still retains the championship lead, although Viñales has now cut it to nine points. The winning trio were followed by San Carlo Gresini Moto3’s Niccolò Antonelli, Danny Kent, JHK Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez, Alex Rins, Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Jakub Kornfeil, AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Khairuddin and Mapfre’s Héctor Faubel.

2012 Mugello Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 157.5 39’57.374
2. 20 5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 157.5 +0.020
3. 16 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 157.5 +0.071
4. 13 27 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA San Carlo Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 157.1 +5.788
5. 11 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 157.1 +5.836
6. 10 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 157.1 +5.860
7. 9 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 157.1 +5.906
8. 8 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 156.3 +18.195
9. 7 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 156.3 +19.232
10. 6 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 156.3 +19.308
11. 5 31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing KTM 155.2 +35.855
12. 4 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology Honda 155.2 +35.872
13. 3 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 155.2 +36.175
14. 2 74 Kevin CALIA ITA Elle 2 Ciatti Honda 155.2 +36.195
15. 1 71 Michael Ruben RINALDI ITA Racing Team Gabrielli Honda 155.2 +36.270
16. 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 155.2 +36.285
17. 89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 155.2 +36.446
18. 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Cresto Guide MZ Racing Honda 155.2 +36.651
19. 32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 154.2 +51.252
20. 99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 153.9 +57.030
21. 8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology Honda 153.9 +57.136
22. 15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 153.9 +57.148
23. 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 153.9 +57.151
24. 41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 153.2 +1’07.228
25. 51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 152.2 +1’23.679
26. 21 Ivan MORENO SPA Andalucia JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 151.7 +1’31.341
27. 3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 150.3 +1’55.845
Not Classified
44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 148.8 8 Laps
53 Jasper IWEMA NED Moto FGR FGR Honda 152.9 12 Laps
94 Jonas FOLGER GER IodaRacing Project Ioda 152.0 14 Laps
61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 154.2 16 Laps
23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 153.4 17 Laps
39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 153.3 17 Laps
96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 146.7 19 Laps
20 Riccardo MORETTI ITA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 0 Lap

2012 Moto3 Championship Point Standings (after nine of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Sandro CORTESE KTM GER 164
2. Maverick VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 155
3. Luis SALOM Kalex KTM SPA 104
4. Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 85
5. Alexis MASBOU Honda FRA 75
7. Alex RINS Suter Honda SPA 63
8. Louis ROSSI FTR Honda FRA 56
9. Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda ITA 55
10. Danny KENT KTM GBR 53
11. Efren VAZQUEZ FTR Honda SPA 50
12. Hector FAUBEL Kalex KTM SPA 44
13. Miguel OLIVEIRA Suter Honda POR 39
14. Arthur SISSIS KTM AUS 38
15. Alberto MONCAYO Kalex KTM SPA 36
16. Jakub KORNFEIL FTR Honda CZE 34
17. Alan TECHER TSR Honda FRA 21
18. Niklas AJO KTM FIN 21
19. Alex MARQUEZ Suter Honda SPA 15
20. Jack MILLER Honda AUS 14
21. Ivan MORENO FTR Honda SPA 10
22. Jasper IWEMA FGR Honda NED 9
23. Luca GRUENWALD Honda GER 8
24. Giulian PEDONE Suter Honda SWI 7
26. Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda ITA 7
27. Jonas FOLGER Ioda GER 5
28. Brad BINDER Kalex KTM RSA 5
29. Marcel SCHROTTER Mahindra GER 4
30. Adrian MARTIN FTR Honda SPA 3
31. Kevin HANUS Honda GER 3
32. Kevin CALIA Honda ITA 2
33. Michael Ruben RINALDI Honda ITA 1
34. Simone GROTZKYJ Suter Honda ITA 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....

Harley-Davidson IRONe12 Review (14 Fast Facts)

Electric bicycles are growing in popularity across a broad spectrum of people and a wide array of uses. This is a story about one...