2012 Mugello Moto2: Espargaro on Pole

2012-mugello-moto2-espargaro-on-pole (1)

2012 Mugello Moto2 Qualifying Results

Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró recovered from a heavy crash in this morning’s Moto2 practice to claim pole position for Sunday’s race at the Gran Premio d’Italia TIM at Mugello ahead of Marc Márquez and Andrea Iannone in a tightly fought qualifying session.

Espargaró left it right until the end to post the fastest lap of 1.52’389, which moved Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Márquez into second, after the championship leader had lead up until the final minute.

Despite JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco setting the third fastest time of the session, he will start from 18th on the grid tomorrow, after being handed a 15 spot grid penalty by Race Direction. Zarco had been at fault for taking out Espargaró in the morning practice as he went into turn one too hot and slid into the Spaniard, which was subsequently ruled as riding in an irresponsible manner. His team did not lodge an appeal.

This moved Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone up into third, putting an Italian on the front row of the grid, much to the delight of the home fans. NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis put in yet another strong performance on his FTR machine to line up fourth, alongside Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi in fifth.

Lüthi had been the pace setter earlier in the day, yet could not repeat his feat in the afternoon. Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith completes row two, despite crashing out on his final hot lap.

Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding qualified seventh, narrowly ousting Espargaró’s teammate Esteve Rabbat into eighth. Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami rounds out row three, while Mapfre Aspar Team’s Nico Terol had a good session at the Italian circuit as he finished tenth.

There were numerous crashes throughout the session with Tech 3’s Xavier Siméon, Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi, Redding’s teammate Mika Kallio and Cresto Guide MZ Racing’s Mike Di Meglio, S/Master Speed Up’s Alessandro Andreozzi, SAG Team’s Marco Colandrea, Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2’s Ratthapark Wilairot, and Kiefer Racing’s Max Neukirchner all coming off their bikes. Neukirchner was the only rider to suffer an injury, hurting his right hand. His condition will be assessed before warm-up Sunday morning.

2012 Mugello Moto2 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex286.91’52.369
2.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter290.01’52.4380.069 / 0.069
3.5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi282.71’52.7810.412 / 0.343
4.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up285.81’52.8350.466 / 0.054
5.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR288.41’52.8830.514 / 0.048
6.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter285.71’52.9460.577 / 0.063
7.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3282.51’53.0290.660 / 0.083
8.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex278.21’53.0590.690 / 0.030
9.80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex287.41’53.0900.721 / 0.031
10.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex284.71’53.1520.783 / 0.062
11.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter285.61’53.2580.889 / 0.106
12.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR285.31’53.2660.897 / 0.008
13.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter286.01’53.3190.950 / 0.053
14.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR286.41’53.4091.040 / 0.090
15.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex288.21’53.5091.140 / 0.100
16.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex285.21’53.5661.197 / 0.057
17.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRACresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda287.41’53.6721.303 / 0.106
18.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex283.91’53.6831.314 / 0.011
19.60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter281.81’53.7151.346 / 0.032
20.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR281.11’53.7221.353 / 0.007
21.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex282.11’53.7871.418 / 0.065
22.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex288.81’53.9841.615 / 0.197
23.24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter286.71’54.0381.669 / 0.054
24.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter284.91’54.1641.795 / 0.126
25.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter279.41’54.5132.144 / 0.349
26.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3276.61’54.7262.357 / 0.213
27.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up285.51’54.8022.433 / 0.076
28.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter276.91’54.8902.521 / 0.088
29.22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up278.11’55.2672.898 / 0.377
30.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR278.11’55.3743.005 / 0.107
31.55Massimo ROCCOLIITADesguaces La Torre SAGBimota276.11’55.5183.149 / 0.144
32.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi275.21’56.3373.968 / 0.819
33.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki273.51’57.0814.712 / 0.744

Previous article2013 Kawasaki KLX250S | Preview
Next article2012 Spring Creek Motocross | Results
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).