Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport KTM's Baylor Wins Cajun National Enduro

KTM’s Baylor Wins Cajun National Enduro


2012 AMA National Enduro Series

KTM support rider Steward Baylor claimed his fourth win of the season at the fifth round of the AMA National Enduro Series in Forest Hill, Louisiana, to further strengthen his hold on the series point standings.

Baylor started the day at the Cajun National Enduro well with a win in the first special test section. His biggest challenger of the day was Husaberg’s Mike Lafferty who was able to take the win at the second test. Baylor came back strong in the third test and also claimed the fast time in the fifth and sixth tests.

At the end of all six tests he was able to edge out Lafferty to claim is fourth win of the season. Now five rounds into the series, Baylor holds a 32 point lead in the series point standings.

Two other KTM riders joined Baylor in the top five. KTM rider Jesse Groemm was able to secure 4th overall while Factory FMF/KTM rider Russell Bobbitt earned a 5th place result. Unfortunately, Bobbitt’s teammate and the winner of third round of the series, Cory Buttrick, suffered a crash early in the first test section injuring his knee. Buttrick was unable to complete the test section and sat out the remainder of the race to get his knee evaluated.

The riders will now take a one month break before returning to the series for the sixth round of the series to be held in Upton, Wyoming, on June 17, 2012.

2012 Cajun AMA National Enduro (Forest Hill, LA) Overall Results:

  1. Steward Baylor – KTM
  2. Mike Lafferty – Husaberg
  3. Andrew Delong – Husqvarna
  4. Jesse Groemm – KTM
  5. Russell Bobbitt – KTM
  6. Nick Fahringer – Husaberg
  7. Shane Hufford – Husaberg
  8. Brad Bakken – Yamaha
  9. Cole Kirkpatrick – KTM
  10. Kyle McDonal – Husaberg

2012 AMA National Enduro Series Point Standings:

  1. Steward Baylor (KTM) – 145
  2. Mike Lafferty (Husaberg) – 113
  3. Russell Bobbitt (KTM) – 92


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...