Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2012 Indianapolis Supercross | Results

2012 Indianapolis Supercross | Results

2012-indianapolis-supercross-results (1)

2012 AMA Supercross

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA Supercross results from Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, listed below

For the sixth time this season, the reigning AMA Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto was victorious, his latest feat arriving at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis Saturday evening.

But it wasn’t an easy win for the Washington native. Motoconcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi took the Nuclear Cowboyz holeshot, followed by Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton and Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, respectively. Villopoto, meanwhile, started mid pack.

On Lap five, Alessi lost the lead to Brayton, and soon Yoshimura Suzuki’s Brett Metcalfe was in second. But on lap 10, Villopoto had already made his way to the front of the pack, taking Metcalfe for second. Five laps later, Villopoto would pass Brayton to take the win, his sixth this season.

Joining Villopoto on the Indy Supercross podium was Brayton, and JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha’s Davi Millsaps.

Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki KX450F Supercross) says: “This was by far the hardest track of the season. It was slick out there, and I had to be on my game. It was tough to make passes on this track.”

Missing from Saturday’s Supercross event was Joe Gibbs Yamaha’s James Stewart; the Floridan was struck by GEICO Honda’s Kevin Windham during his heat race, and knocked out. Reports say Stewart didn’t have a concussion, but he was sidelined due to the impact of the crash.

With his victory, Villopoto now has 246 points after 11 of 17 rounds. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, who is out with a shoulder injury, is in second, 54 points behind Villopoto. Stewart remains in third with 177 points.

In the Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Class, Rockstar Energy Racing Suzuki’s Blake Wharton took his first win of the season.

Red Bull Red KTM’s Ken Roczen led the field through turn one in the Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Class Main Event, winning the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award, with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett following in second. Baggett quickly passed Roczen, but Roczen answered back as he passed him near the end of the opening lap.

On Lap 5 the race was red flagged due to a crash by Star/Valli/Yamaha’s Kyle Cunningham. The race was restarted in a staggered format with Roczen, Baggett and Wharton in the top three positions, respectively. Current points leader Justin Barcia, who rides for the GIECO Honda team, restarted in eighth place.

After the restart, Wharton charged his way around Baggett and assumed the number-two position, and on the same lap Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Darryn Durham moved into third place. While leading, Roczen crashed and suffered a mechanical problem that forced him to re-enter the race in last place. As a result, Wharton assumed the lead and Durham took over second place. Wharton rode to the second win of his career and Durham finished in second place for the second time this season. Barcia rounded out the podium with a third, Feld Motor Sports says.

Justin Barcia (GEICO Honda CRF250 Supercross) says: “I am lucky to finish where I did tonight. It was so slick out there tonight and tough to get through the corners. It just wasn’t our night tonight, but we will be back.”

Blake Wharton (Rockstar Energy Suzuki RMZ250) says: “I am very thankful to everyone that got me here,” said Wharton. “It was a strange start after the red flag, but it was great for me. I didn’t look up until I saw the white flag, and once I saw it, I knew I had to ride smart for one more lap.”

Monster Energy Supercross heads north to Toronto’s Rogers Centre next weekend.

2012 Indianapolis AMA Supercross Class Results:

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki

2. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Honda

3. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

4. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki

5. Cole Seeley, Murrieta, Calif., Honda

6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki

7. Marvin Musquin, Murrieta, Calif., KTM

8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki

9. Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki

10. Nico Izzi, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

2012 AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 246

2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM – 192

3. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha – 177

4. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha – 151

5. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda – 146

6. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Honda – 143

7. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki – 142

8. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki – 134

9. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Honda – 128

10. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Calif., Suzuki – 128

2012 Indianapolis Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Class Results:

1. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki

2. Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki

3. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki

5. Jake Canada, Sun City, Calif., Honda

6. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda

7. Matthew Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki

8. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Kawasaki

9. Les Smith, York, SC., KTM

10. Shawn Rife, Mechanicsburg, Ohio., Honda

2012 Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 120

2. Darryn Dunham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki – 98

3. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki – 97

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki – 80

5. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Ga., KTM – 80

6. Jake Canada, Sun City, Calif., Suzuki – 72

7. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda – 61

8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha – 43

9. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., KTM – 42

10. PJ Larsen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM – 38

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...

2021 BMW R 18 Test: City and Country Life with the Big Boxer

Let's say we hop into Mr. Peabody's WABAC Machine and set the date for October 1936 and Berlin as a location. With us, we...

Harley-Davidson Tremont Shoes Review: Urban Motorcycle Footwear

In the on-going debate over how much protection is enough, the correct answer for each of us comes from within. Some riders would never...