Bou Undefeated, Wins Madrid FIM X-Trial

2012 FIM X-Trial World Championship

The reigning FIM X-Trial World Champion Toni Bou continued his dominance Saturday, taking his fourth consecutive win of 2012 in the Palacio de Deportes de la Comunidad in Madrid.

But unlike his usual run-away performance, Repsol’s Bou didn’t earn his victory until the final zone of the Madrid X-Trial.

The night in Madrid began with a Repsol launch, which included 10-time Trial Champion Bou and MotoGP’s Casey Stoner, Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez (Moto2).

Bou battled with his rival Adam Raga (Gas Gas), but on the final zone the Spaniard showed why he’s champion, becoming the only rider to overcome the obstacles. He was joined on the Madrid X-Trial podium by Raga and Albert Cabestany (Sherco)

Following the win, Pedrosa and two-time MotoGP Champion Stoner handed out the awards on the podium.

Without time to rest, Bou will compete in the first of the three last rounds next weekend, March 11, in Palma de Mallorca.

Toni Bou (Repsol FIM X-Trial) says: “There is still a lot to do to secure the title, but we are in the good way. Today it was a very special race because it took place in Madrid, because there is Repsol, who is our main sponsor.

“That meant extra pressure to win and also Adam Raga made things difficult and we had to fight until the last zone. In the end everything was perfect and for the Championship we have 4 wins in 4 rounds.

“Nevertheless, we don’t have to look beyond the next race, in Majorca. There are still many qualifyings, semi-finals, a lot of zones and we need to try not to fail and then lose all the points in one shot. We have done everything slowly and faultlessly. Everything is as we dreamt and I’m very happy.”

2012 Madrid FIM X-Trial World Championship Results:

1. Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Honda) 13 points

2. Adam Raga (Gas Gas) 20 points

3. Albert Cabestany (Sherco) 30 points

4. Takahisa Fujinami (Repsol Montesa Honda) 32 points

5. Michael Brown (Gas Gas) 20 points

2012 FIM X-Trial World Champion Point Standings:

1. Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Honda) 80 points

2. Adam Raga (Gas Gas) 54 points

3. Albert Cabestany (Sherco) 51 points

4. Takahisa Fujinami (Repsol Montesa Honda) 39 points

5. Jeroni Fajardo (Beta) 22 points