2012 Phoenix AMA Supercross | Results


2012 AMA Supercross

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA Supercross results from Chase Field, Phoenix, listed below:

Chase Field Phoenix, the second stop on the Monster Energy AMA Supercross tour, proved that 2012 is going to be a highly competitive year, challenging 2011’s “Greatest Season Ever.”

The SX riders arrived in Phoenix hoping for a more technical and difficult track then they had raced on in Anaheim. Phoenix delivered. The fast course with its triple-triple combo became the setting for neck to neck challenges, dramatic comebacks and a history making win.

Early in the evening, Supercross Heat 1 brought the first round of action-packed moments as James Stewart, riding for Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX, took first.

Claiming to be under the weather, Stewart opted out of the final practice and left fans wondering. Regardless, he brought the “wow” factor to Heat 1. Throughout the heat, Stewart challenged one racer after another.

Finally going neck to neck with rider/owner of TwoTwo Motorsports, Chad Reed. Reed crashed and Stewart took the lead. His best lap time was 51.599. Andrew Short of Brooks/McGrath Honda came in second followed shortly by Mike Alessi of Motoconcepts.

Supercross Heat 2 brought similar twist and turns. First and foremost, there was the return of Trey Canard, 2011’s Rookie of the Year. In 2011, Canard broke two femurs and his collarbone. His return to the sport was inevitable but the timing was questionable. Canard, who rides for American Honda, announced his return just two days ago and timidly rode the practice runs. All smiles, he claimed to be “feeling good.” Mentally and emotionally prepared.

Heat 2 included defending champion, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto. In Anaheim, Villopoto dominated and won Anaheim, a consecutive season win. However, early on in the Phoenix’s Heat 2, Villopoto lost control of his front end and went down. Jake Weimer also of Monster Energy Kawasaki took the lead and confidently kept it. Followed by Justin Brayton with Honda Muscle Milk. Villopoto fought for fifth just behind Red Bull KTM rider, Ryan Dungey.

As the main event closed in on the riders, it was evident that race dynamics had drastically changed. Prior to Heat 2, Villopoto who had been all smiles now he sat in quiet contemplation. Stewart paced instead of hanging back. Canard confidence glowed. Brayton who had “hoped to be on the podium” looked on in anticipation. A phenomenal evening was unfolding and it only got better.

In the final race of the evening, history was made. Dungey took the lead aboard the SX-F 450 and kept it, giving KTM its first AMA Supercross win. Dungey was followed by Weimer, and giving fans a thrilling ride, Ryan Villopoto moved from 18th to take the final podium position. GEICO Honda’s Kevin Windham arrived in fourth, with Reed following in fifth.

This was Dungey’s second-win in Chase Field.

Ryan Dungey (KTM SX-F 450 Supercross) says: “This was a big step in right direction for KTM. They’ve been behind me the whole way and believed in me. We’ve come a long way since the off-season, but there’s still a lot of racing to go. I got off to a great start and (moved) into the lead early, which made it nice on myself. If it wasn’t for all these people (at KTM) working their butts off every week, this wouldn’t happen, so I owe this all to them.”

The AMA Supercross Championship heads to Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles next Saturday, Jan. 21, for Round 3 of 17.

AMA Supercross Results, Chase Field, Phoenix:
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
3. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
4. Kevin Windham (Honda)
5. Chad Reed (Honda)
6. Andrew Short (Honda)
7. Trey Canard (Honda)
8. James Stewart (Yamaha)
9. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki)
10. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki)
11. Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki)
12. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki)
13. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha)
14. Justin Brayton (Honda)
15. Chris Blose (Kawasaki)

2012 AMA Supercross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Dungey, 45
2. Ryan Villopoto, 45
3. Jake Weimer, 38
4. Chad Reed, 38
5. Kevin Windham, 31
6. Andrew Short, 29
7. James Stewart, 28
8. Justin Brayton, 25
9. Brett Metcalfe, 22
10. Josh Hansen, 22


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.