2012 AMA Motocross Schedule

2012 AMA MX

MX Sports Pro Racing released the 2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship schedule, which will again consist of 12 rounds.

The 2012 AMA MX season opener will be the traditional Hangtown Classic in California May 19, and conclude Sept. 8 at California track that will be determined.

In between will be all the circuit known to the AMA Motocross Championship – Freestone, Thunder Valley, High Point, Budds Creek, RedBud, Spring Creek, Washougal, Southwick, Unadilla and Steel City.

Davey Coombs (MX Sports Pro Racing President) says: “We are very fortunate to have so many great, iconic motocross tracks as part of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship-tracks that challenge the racers and have strong, loyal fan bases that come out to see these races.

“This series is the pinnacle of professional motocross, and the growth we’ve seen in the last three years for both the live audiences and television viewers watching from all over the world has been outstanding.”

The Motocross series will also have an expanded TV package with NBC Sports Group, and will be streamed live on allisports.com.

Once the MX racing gets underway, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto will be looking to defend his AMA Motocross title. But the Californian will have much work with the talent heading into 2012 – Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, TwoTwo Motorsport Honda’s Chad Reed and Joe Gibbs Racing Yamaha’s James Stewart.

And many challenges will also surface from other teams, incluing Team Honda Muscle Milk, the Yoshimura Suzuki factory team, MotoConcepts/Alessi Racing, the new L&Mc Racing Honda team spearheaded by legend Jeremy McGrath, and more.

In the 250 Class, newly-crowned champion, and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider, Dean Wilson will not only have to defend his title against the best young riders in America, he will also be pursued by the two most recent MX2 World Champions. Frenchman Marvin Musquin and German sensation Ken Roczen have each earned Grand Prix titles on 250cc motorcycles, and will now join forces at Red Bull KTM to challenge Wilson for the most-coveted outdoor title in the sport, a Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship. Add in the formidable GEICO Honda team, DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha, Rockstar Energy Suzuki, JDR KTM, in addition to Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda, and the 2012 season is ripe for exceptional competition, MX Sports says.

Additionally, the Women’s Motocross Championship will be included at eight rounds. Led by defending champion, Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Ashley Fiolek, who claimed her third title in four years as a pro, the world’s fastest women riders are set to bring even more excitement to the series. Fiolek can once again expect serious competition from her primary rival, and fellow multi-time champion, Jessica Patterson of the DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha team, MX sports says.

Tickets for all 12 rounds of the 2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship will be on sale on Moto Monday, Dec. 5. Fans eager to get a head start on plans for next summer can simply log onto the official website of American Motocross at AlliSports.com/motocross.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship Schedule

  1. Hangtown Motocross Classic*, Sacramento, Calif., May 19
  2. Freestone Raceway*, Wortham, Texas, May 26
  3. Thunder Valley Motocross*, Lakewood, Colo., June 2
  4. High Point Raceway, Mt. Morris, Pa., June 9
  5. Budds Creek Motocross, Mechanicsville, Md., June 16
  6. RedBud*, Buchanan, Mich., July 7
  7. Spring Creek Motocross*, Millville, Minn., July 14
  8. Washougal MX Park, Washougal, Wash., July 21
  9. Moto-X 338*, Southwick, Mass., Aug. 11
  10. Unadilla. New Berlin, N.Y., Aug. 18
  11. Steel City Raceway*, Delmont, Pa., Sept. 1
  12. TBA* Southern Calif., Sept. 8