Malaysian Moto2: Luthi Takes 1st Pole

2011 Moto2

Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) clinched his first pole position in the Moto2 class at Sepang, Malaysia, Saturday, beating Stefan Bradl and Michele Pirro, whilst Marc Márquez completed just two laps to ensure himself a spot on the grid.

Leading the field for the second time this weekend, 2005 125cc World Champion Lüthi took over the top spot from Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) with a lap of 2’07.512, a two-tenths margin over the Championship leader. Gresini Racing Moto2’s Pirro followed Bradl by two-tenths to clinch his best starting position of the season with third just before crashing out of the qualifying outing.

Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) posted a lap of 2’08.069 to land at the head of row two, with both Espargaró brothers following the Japanese rider, with junior Pol (HP Tuenti Speed Up) ahead of senior Aleix (Pons HP 40) by four-hundredths.

Completing the session in seventh with a best effort of 2’08.240 was Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing), with Claudio Corti (Italtrans Racing) and Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) joining the Finn on row three. Mattia Pasini (Ioda Racing Project) rounded out the top ten with a time nine-tenths off the pole time set by Lüthi.

Márquez, who had sat out both Friday afternoon’s second practice and Saturday morning’s third session as he continued to recover from his huge crash in FP1, did enough to qualify in 36th position. Just three points separate the Spaniard and Championship leader Bradl going into Sunday’s penultimate race of the season.

2011 Sepang Moto2: Qualifying Results

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter264.32’07.512 
2.65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex265.32’07.7240.212 / 0.212
3.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki256.82’08.0040.492 / 0.280
4.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki261.92’08.0690.557 / 0.065
5.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR260.52’08.1070.595 / 0.038
6.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex265.72’08.1540.642 / 0.047
7.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter264.82’08.2400.728 / 0.086
8.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter260.72’08.3190.807 / 0.079
9.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter263.92’08.4120.900 / 0.093
10.75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR261.92’08.4140.902 / 0.002
11.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi263.92’08.4170.905 / 0.003
12.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR260.32’08.4660.954 / 0.049
13.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter264.12’08.5201.008 / 0.054
14.3Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR263.32’08.5491.037 / 0.029
15.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda260.62’08.6201.108 / 0.071
16.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda257.12’08.7141.202 / 0.094
17.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3261.22’08.8551.343 / 0.141
18.16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter267.32’08.9341.422 / 0.079
19.54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter260.12’09.0151.503 / 0.081
20.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter260.22’09.0871.575 / 0.072
21.6Joan OLIVESPAAeroport de CastelloFTR263.92’09.2781.766 / 0.191
22.35Raffaele DE ROSAITANGM Forward RacingSuter262.82’09.3071.795 / 0.029
23.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3259.52’09.3151.803 / 0.008
24.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR258.02’09.3821.870 / 0.067
25.80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex266.92’09.4721.960 / 0.090
26.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR259.82’09.6252.113 / 0.153
27.18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter257.32’09.6862.174 / 0.061
28.87Mohamad ZAMRI BABAMALPetronas MalaysiaMoriwaki257.22’09.8222.310 / 0.136
29.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex257.62’09.9112.399 / 0.089
30.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR259.12’10.3192.807 / 0.408
31.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter258.42’10.3482.836 / 0.029
32.20Ivan MORENOSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter262.52’10.8753.363 / 0.527
33.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR255.22’11.0223.510 / 0.147
34.86Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas MalaysiaMoriwaki259.22’11.3883.876 / 0.366
35.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki260.22’12.1804.668 / 0.792
36.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter260.12’12.8645.352 / 0.684
37.23Apiwat WONGTHANANONTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR260.62’13.2015.689 / 0.337
 38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3   
 88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki