2012 AMA Motocross & Supercross Numbers

2012 AMA MX/SX Numbers

AMA pro Racing has released the national numbers for the 2012 AMA Motocross and Supercross championships.

All riders must use the assigned national number for competition as listed. In addition, the current champion must run the No. 1 plate when competing in the class or region in which the No. 1 plate was earned. When competing in a class outside of the class where the championship was earned, the rider must use the assigned national number.

An explanation of how the numbers are assigned follows at the bottom of this page.

2012 Top 100 and Career National Numbers for Supercross and Motocross:

1. Ryan Villopoto: AMA Supercross 450 cc Champion
1. Ryan Villopoto: AMA Motocross 450 cc Champion
1. Dean Wilson: AMA Motocross 250 cc Champion
1. Broc Tickle: AMA Supercross Lites West Champion
1. Justin Barcia: AMA Supercross Lites East Champion

2*: Ryan Villopoto
3*: Mike Brown
5*: Ryan Dungey
7*: James Stewart
9*: Ivan Tedesco
10*: Justin Brayton
11*: Kyle Chisholm
12**: Blake Baggett
14*: Kevin Windham
15*: Dean Wilson
16*: John Dowd
17: Eli Tomac
18*: David Millsaps
19: Kyle Cunningham
20: Justin Barcia
21: Jake Weimer
22*: Chad Reed
23: Gareth Swanepoel
24*: Brett Mecalfe
25: Broc Tickle
26*: Michael Byrne
27*: Nicholas Wey
28*: Tyla Rattray
29*: Andrew Short
30: Alex Martin
31: Martin Davalos
32: Tommy Hahn
33*: Joshua Grant
34: Cole Seely
35: Darryn Durham
36: Kyle Regal
37: Malcom Stewart
38: Marvin Musquin
39: Tye Simmonds
40: Gannon Audette
41*: Trey Canard
42: Ricky Dietrich
43: Christian Craig
44: Jason Anderson
45: Nick Paluzzi
46: Les Smith
47: Chris Blose
48: Jimmy Albertson
49: Justin Bogle
50: Nico Izzi
51: Travis Baker
52: Ben Lamay
53: Ryan Sipes
54: Weston Peick
55: Lance Vincent
56: Austin Stroupe
57: Jake Canada
58: Will Hahn
59: Vince Friese
60: Matthew Lemoine
61: Austin Howell
62: Travis Sewell
63: Colton Facciotti
64: Matt Boni
65: Ryan Morais
66: Jason Thomas
67: Scott Champion
68: Shane Sewell
69: Jimmy DeCotis
70: Ken Roczen
71: Kevin Rookstool
72: Jarred Jet Browne
73: Joshua Clark
74: Tyler Bowers
75*: Josh Hill
76: Calle Aspergren
77: Lowell Spangler
78: Tommy Weeck
79: Tyler Medaglia
80: Kyle Keylon
81: Robert Kiniry
82: Justin Sipes
83: Kyle Partridge
84: Killian Rusk
85: Robert Marshall
86: Taylor Futrell
87: Matt Goerke
88: Ben Evans
89: Tyler Bright
90: Bryce Vallee
91: Dalton Carlson
92: Hunter Clements
93: AJ Catanzaro
94: Cole Siebler
95: Chris Plouffe
96: Kyle Peters
97: Jeremy Medaglia
98: Tye Hames
99: Sean Hackley Jr
377*: Christophe Pourcel
800*: Mike Alessi

*Career Numbers
**New Career Numbers for 2012

Supercross/Motocross Assignment Process:

No. 1: The current series champion must run the No. 1 plate in that series.

Nos. 2-9: A champion from the previous competition year may choose a permanent single-digit number if available, with the exception of No. 4. The AMA has reserved No. 4 for exclusive use by Ricky Carmichael through 2011.

Nos. 10-999: Riders who finish in the top 10 in combined championship points in Supercross, Motocross 250 and Motocross 450 competition in the previous competition year have the option to choose a career national two-digit number, if available. These riders, by their option, may instead select a three-digit national number.

Riders who finish outside the top 10 but in the top 100 in combined championship points in Supercross, Motocross 250 and Motocross 450 competition in the previous year will be assigned consecutive two-digit numbers from the available supply until that supply is exhausted.

A comparison of riders’ best moto finishes breaks a tie, unless one of those riders competed in only one discipline. In the case of a tie between a rider who rode one discipline (e.g., Supercross) and a rider who rode both disciplines, the tie is broken in favor of the rider who rode both series.

A rider who fails to earn at least one championship point during the season preceding the current season will lose his or her career number and be issued a new number based on current points. Special consideration is given to a rider if an injury impeded participation the previous year.

Note: Lower three-digit competition numbers (e.g., 100-125) are traditionally held for past or current champions from non-U.S. series who participate in a Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, or a Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross event.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.