2011 Motegi Moto2: Marquez on Pole

2011 Moto2

The final three quarters of the Moto2 qualifying session for the Grand Prix of Japan saw a battle for pole ensue between Interwetten Paddock Moto2 rider Thomas Lüthi and Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez, with the Spanish rider stepping into the top spot by a margin of just under two-tenths of a second with a time of 1’52.067.

The 18-year-old Moto2 rookie Marquez nearly crashed during a fast lap but pulled off an impressive save to avoid going down.

Andrea Iannone is sure to be a contender in Sunday’s race, the 22 year-old Speed Master rider taking the third spot on the grid with a best lap three-tenths off the pole position time. Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing), who had a moment but controlled the near crash, was two-tenths off the Italian in fourth, with last year’s sixth place finisher Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) and Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) joining the British rider on row two.

Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2), who finished fourth at Motegi last year, leads row three ahead of Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) and Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP). Mattia Pasini (Ioda Racing Project) completed the top ten, ahead of Jordi Torres (Mapfre Aspar) and Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing).

Pol Espargaró (HP Tuenti Speed Up) had an early crash coming onto the start-finish straight and was fortunate not to be hit by an alert Kenny Noyes. The Spaniard returned later in the session to qualify 21st. Sergio Gadea (Desguaces La Torre G22) and Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing) also both went down in separate incidents and did not finish the session.

2011 Motegi Moto2: Qualifying Results

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter259.21’52.067 
2.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter260.91’52.2600.193 / 0.193
3.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter259.61’52.4230.356 / 0.163
4.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3254.31’52.6450.578 / 0.222
5.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki257.91’52.6940.627 / 0.049
6.3Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR256.21’52.6960.629 / 0.002
7.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi258.41’52.7630.696 / 0.067
8.65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex260.21’52.7890.722 / 0.026
9.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter257.81’52.7990.732 / 0.010
10.75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR255.81’52.8530.786 / 0.054
11.18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter254.21’52.9490.882 / 0.096
12.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter258.71’53.0821.015 / 0.133
13.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex257.81’53.1351.068 / 0.053
14.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki253.81’53.1721.105 / 0.037
15.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter252.91’53.2011.134 / 0.029
16.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3252.01’53.2101.143 / 0.009
17.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR258.21’53.2741.207 / 0.064
18.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamSuter256.01’53.2911.224 / 0.017
19.54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter256.71’53.3761.309 / 0.085
20.35Raffaele DE ROSAITANGM Forward RacingSuter253.01’53.4301.363 / 0.054
21.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR257.91’53.5321.465 / 0.102
22.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki253.11’53.6381.571 / 0.106
23.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda257.61’53.7151.648 / 0.077
24.80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex259.41’53.7551.688 / 0.040
25.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3254.21’53.7791.712 / 0.024
26.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR253.51’53.8181.751 / 0.039
27.16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter258.31’53.8201.753 / 0.002
28.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR256.51’53.9661.899 / 0.146
29.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda253.41’53.9691.902 / 0.003
30.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR255.91’54.1612.094 / 0.192
31.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR255.61’54.3412.274 / 0.180
32.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR255.01’54.3752.308 / 0.034
33.7Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNCIP with TSRTSR 6257.81’54.4412.374 / 0.066
34.6Joan OLIVESPAAeroport de CastelloFTR254.21’54.7402.673 / 0.299
35.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki255.11’54.7442.677 / 0.004
36.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter251.11’54.9112.844 / 0.167
37.33Sergio GADEASPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki251.81’55.5583.491 / 0.647
 4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex