News 2011 Misano Moto2 | Race Results

2011 Misano Moto2 | Race Results

2011-misano-moto2-race-results (1)

2011 Moto2

A four-way battle for Moto2 victory at Misano for the San Marino GP Sunday saw Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) take victory ahead of Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) and Andrea Iannone (Speed Master).

Pole starter Bradl led off the start of the race, until the German rider had a moment and dropped to third, giving the lead over to Márquez followed by Scott Redding. The British Marc VDS Racing rider then overtook the Spaniard at the front and began to pull a gap on the field.

A race long spar between Iannone, Márquez and Bradl ensued, with Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) joining the front group as Redding dropped off the front on lap 13.

Close racing had the front runners changing positions nearly every lap, with Italian rider Iannone fighting hard for a win at his home track, Bradl fighting for another win to ensure his Championship lead, and Márquez determined to close the gap in the standings to the German.

Eighteen year-old Marquez succeeded in taking the lead from the Italian on lap 22, holding it until the finish line to take his sixth win of the season. Bradl overtook Iannone on the penultimate lap to cross the line second, while 22 year-old Iannone took third at his home circuit for his fourth podium of the season, setting a new fastest lap record on his eighth lap in the process.

De Angelis crossed the line fourth, a second and a half ahead of two British riders who started the race along side the San Marino local from the second row, Redding in fifth and Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) in sixth.

Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) crossed the line seventh after his front row start, followed by Swiss rider Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) in eighth, Pol Espargaro (HP Tuenti Speed Up) in ninth and Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) in tenth.

2011 Misano Moto2: Race Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 152.8 43’08.197
2. 20 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Kalex 152.8 +0.619
3. 16 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Suter 152.8 +0.713
4. 13 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 152.7 +1.634
5. 11 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 152.6 +3.275
6. 10 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 152.6 +3.436
7. 9 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 152.5 +5.255
8. 8 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 152.3 +8.739
9. 7 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up FTR 152.1 +13.224
10. 6 3 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 152.0 +13.551
11. 5 34 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX FTR 151.8 +17.533
12. 4 60 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 151.8 +18.163
13. 3 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 151.8 +18.254
14. 2 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 151.7 +19.180
15. 1 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 151.4 +24.454
16. 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 151.4 +24.858
17. 75 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 151.4 +24.992
18. 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Suter 150.8 +35.358
19. 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing Kalex 150.7 +35.800
20. 7 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Technomag-CIP Suter 150.7 +37.371
21. 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 150.6 +37.484
22. 35 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA NGM Forward Racing Suter 150.1 +47.904
23. 9 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX FTR 150.0 +48.833
24. 64 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team FTR 149.5 +56.858
25. 53 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up FTR 149.0 +1’06.771
26. 6 Joan OLIVE SPA Blusens-STX FTR 149.0 +1’07.053
27. 13 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 148.6 +1’13.378
28. 32 Jacob GAGNE USA Aeroport de Castello FTR 148.2 +1’21.741
29. 22 Alessandro ANDREOZZI ITA Andreozzi Reparto Corse FTR 147.7 +1’30.644
30. 95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 144.3 1 Lap
Not Classified
40 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 150.5 13 Laps
76 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 149.9 13 Laps
31 Carmelo MORALES SPA Desguaces La Torre G22 Moriwaki 148.5 14 Laps
16 Jules CLUZEL FRA NGM Forward Racing Suter 150.4 20 Laps
25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 0 Lap
19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B Tech 3 0 Lap
39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team Suter 0 Lap
14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda Singha SAG FTR 0 Lap

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...